We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grapeseed

Grapeseed
4865 Cordell Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814
(301) 986-9592
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Grapeseed is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 278 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: between Norfolk and Woodmont
Transit: Grapeseed is located 1/2 mile from the Bethesda Metro stop on the Red Line.
Description: Grapeseed American Bistro is a casual bistro that matches great food and wine together. With anywhere from 80 to 100 wines by the glass and approximately 325 bottle listed, we cater to the novice wine lover and to the experienced. We start with a bottle of wine and pick out the characteristics and nuances of the wine and then award winning Chef Jeffrey Heineman creates a menu item to highlight the flavors of the wine. So come in and relax, have a taste or a glass of wine and try something on our ever-changing menu.
MD
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wow!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My meal at this restaurant far exceeded my expectations. The food was simply excellent and the service matched. I would have given it an excellent rating but the price did seem over the top - about $230 for dinner for two with one person experiencing wine pairings. We won't be able to back anytime soon, but it was wonderful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    38
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Wine Tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We attended a wine tasting for six wines by Siegfried of New Zealand. What was done so well by the restraunt was matching the food with the wines and making the food protions small enough so that people did not leaved feeling they had eaten too much.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I am struggling to understand how this restaurant has the current rating that it has. It is merely "average" at best. Went last evening w/a friend who had a "Groupon-coupon" for a $90.00 for two - 3 course meal inclusive of wine. The Groupon "deal" indicated that the wine selection choices were those that were fully available on the wine menu, though not to exceed $40.00. But, alas, of course, to no surprise, the waitress indicated otherwise and handed my friend a 3"x5" index card w/three wine choices. If the wine isn't good enough to be offered on your main wine list, then that raises concerns. Additionally, it would indicate to me that the wine was no better than a "two buck chuck" - to note that the manager was quick to mention that Groupon forces him to buy specific wines for this particular deal - hence, Groupon must receive some form of "kick-back" from the wine distributer. The service was average, the food much the same and we concluded that the $90.00 "deal" so to speak was what we would have paid to begin with - essentially, not much of a Groupon deal. Also note that the restaurant on a Thursday evening was a 1/4 full - ambiance was lousy and begs to question the need for this Groupon deal. We wrapped up our evening, left a 20% tip on the $90.00, only then to be questioned aggressively at the front door by the manager as to why we didn't leave 20% on what he deemed to be a value of $160.00. Are you kidding me??? So, my friend and I felt compelled to help the poor soul understand a "value for money" conversation and "misrepresentation" issue. I do not believe it sank in. All in all a very disappointing evening and so dreadfully sorry to hear that the CEO of Groupon was fired yesterday!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent, we loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Went the weekend after Valentines Day. Had a wonderful meal. I loved the korean beef appetizer but my wife thought it was too spicy. The scallops were amazing and greek yogurt "cheesecake" was excellent.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I hosted a business dinner and wasn't sure how it would go over, but it was only about half full on a Tuesday and we had good seats by the front window. The best part was the mussels. I have never had such big, tender mussels and so many I was able to share with the whole table. They were the best! Everyone else really enjoyed the evening and their food, so it was perfect!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grapeseed also viewed

 

Been to Grapeseed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grapeseed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.