We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hang out place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Raku-An Asian Dining & Sushi

Raku-An Asian Dining & Sushi
7240 Woodmont Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-2951
(301) 718-8680
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 301 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Btw Bethesda Ave & Elm St.
Transit: 2 Blocks South of Bethesda Metro Station (Red Line)
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hang out place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have been a couple times at this restaurant and would come back again! I truly recommend this place because they offer a good service, the food is delicious. I am not a huge fan of sushi, but I can't resist...is really fresh! last time I hung out with my girlfriends and had an awesome time! This restaurant is packed, you might have to wait, but is worth it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    40
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Available”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Amazing. Walked in at 7:30 Saturday night without a reservation & got a table for 4 immediately.
Food & service was terrific. Had the sushi variety plate. Great selection.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“problem with a reservation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Good food,
but we had a problem with our reservation, despite the fact that we booked a table : we had none waiting for us and no solution whatsoever was proposed to us, it was a big disappointment !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“AMAZING. All The Time. Everytime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Every time we go to Raku there is a line. Every time! This place consistently turns out great tasting good quality food. If you sit at the bar you get a great view of the Open kitchen. These guys are consummate professional restauranteurs! Although many guests go for the sushi, my absolute favorite is the Coconut Red Curry soup. This is the best frigg'n soup on the planet. It's an over the top value too! $12 or $13 for a HUGE BOWL of soup. This ain't "Cup 'o Noodles" either. The bowl is so big, my wife and I split it! I usually get it just with vegetables and Soba Noodles. The flavors explode in your mouth. Fresh Cilantro, Sassy Red Curry. Bean Sprouts, Tofu and cabbage. It's fresh, healthy and delicious. You can also get Beef, Chicken or Shrimp and Egg Noodles or Udon Noodles. Tastes GREAT and nutritious! If you go, beware, this place ALWAYS HAS A WAIT ALWAYS! It's that good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sushi in comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Always stop at Raku when catching flicks at The Landmark Bethesda Row.
Comfortable and hopping sidewalk cafe, and great menu.
Reasonably priced and o/s service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raku-An Asian Dining & Sushi also viewed

 
Bethesda, MD
Bethesda, MD
 

Been to Raku-An Asian Dining & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raku-An Asian Dining & Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.