We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Brittle Like Real Raku” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Raku-An Asian Dining & Sushi

Raku-An Asian Dining & Sushi
7240 Woodmont Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-2951
(301) 718-8680
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 330 Restaurants in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Btw Bethesda Ave & Elm St.
Transit: 2 Blocks South of Bethesda Metro Station (Red Line)
Stamford CT
Level Contributor
105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not Brittle Like Real Raku”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

If you crave really good Asian Fusion/Sushi, and love noise, crowds, and unusual food, this is the place. We always dine here at least once whenever visiting Washington, and we're never disappointed (especially since we make reservations). The food is always tasty, interesting, well presented and served. What is amazing is how many young people are here, from small children on up, all scarfing down the exotic food with or without chopsticks. We only wish there would be a Raku in Connecticut for us to enjoy closer to home.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bern K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fresh food, great service, always reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Definitely the best sushi and Japanese in the area. Fish is fresh. Some of the more unique items -- Tuna Tataki pizza, for example -- are quite tasty. Nice outdoor seating in the right weather. Good price. Drinks are so-so. The wait staff are always so friendly. Child-friendly place, as are all the places in this 'hood. Perfect place for before the movies up the block. Make a reservation if betwen 6-9.

Helpful?
Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“I never thought I would love Japanese restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

In 1999, when I started working in Bethesda we had a great group and went to restaurants for lunch almost everyday. There was no shortage of restaurants in Bethesda. My vegetarian friend suggested this place and I frowned and said to eat Sushi? I was dragged there and since then have been a regular visitor for now 13 years. I love their Veg Bento box but our family favorite is the red curry Udon Noodle soup.. Yummmm.. This is the place I go for Birthday every year.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anitakulkarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Always a pleasurable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have been going to Raku for over 10 years and it is definitely a favorite stop while in Bethesda. I'm from San Francisco and am somewhat of a food snob, but this really cuts the muster. They have wonderful sashimi, sushi and rolls to suit all palates. I'm always thanked when I bring new business colleagues here and expose them to the Raku experience.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Whirled_Traveler0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bento Box!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I love their bento boxes! I always order the unagi or sashimi bento box and it comes with an assortment of goodies! There's some small crab puffs (or similar) along with portabella mushrooms and green beans. You also get four California rolls and a little salad. If you order the unagi bento box, I believe there's also some mashed potatoes underneath the unagi as well. All bento boxes come with miso soup served beforehand.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kiwikobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raku-An Asian Dining & Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Raku-An Asian Dining & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing