We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh food, great service, always reliable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Raku-An Asian Dining & Sushi

Raku-An Asian Dining & Sushi
7240 Woodmont Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-2951
(301) 718-8680
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 300 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Btw Bethesda Ave & Elm St.
Transit: 2 Blocks South of Bethesda Metro Station (Red Line)
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fresh food, great service, always reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Definitely the best sushi and Japanese in the area. Fish is fresh. Some of the more unique items -- Tuna Tataki pizza, for example -- are quite tasty. Nice outdoor seating in the right weather. Good price. Drinks are so-so. The wait staff are always so friendly. Child-friendly place, as are all the places in this 'hood. Perfect place for before the movies up the block. Make a reservation if betwen 6-9.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    41
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“I never thought I would love Japanese restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

In 1999, when I started working in Bethesda we had a great group and went to restaurants for lunch almost everyday. There was no shortage of restaurants in Bethesda. My vegetarian friend suggested this place and I frowned and said to eat Sushi? I was dragged there and since then have been a regular visitor for now 13 years. I love their Veg Bento box but our family favorite is the red curry Udon Noodle soup.. Yummmm.. This is the place I go for Birthday every year.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Always a pleasurable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have been going to Raku for over 10 years and it is definitely a favorite stop while in Bethesda. I'm from San Francisco and am somewhat of a food snob, but this really cuts the muster. They have wonderful sashimi, sushi and rolls to suit all palates. I'm always thanked when I bring new business colleagues here and expose them to the Raku experience.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Bento Box!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I love their bento boxes! I always order the unagi or sashimi bento box and it comes with an assortment of goodies! There's some small crab puffs (or similar) along with portabella mushrooms and green beans. You also get four California rolls and a little salad. If you order the unagi bento box, I believe there's also some mashed potatoes underneath the unagi as well. All bento boxes come with miso soup served beforehand.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Best Sushi I've had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I happened upon this place while looking for options and I was VERY pleased. The prices are decent and the sushi is top-notch. The atmosphere is very modern and whimsical. Try the Chilean Sea Bass Tempura Roll, it's great!
The staff is friendly and attentive, you'll be glad you went!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raku-An Asian Dining & Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Raku-An Asian Dining & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raku-An Asian Dining & Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.