We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, consistent place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Raku-An Asian Dining & Sushi

Raku-An Asian Dining & Sushi
7240 Woodmont Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-2951
(301) 718-8680
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 305 Restaurants in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Btw Bethesda Ave & Elm St.
Transit: 2 Blocks South of Bethesda Metro Station (Red Line)
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice, consistent place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Always a nice place to eat. Dishes are consistently good as is the service. Only downside is that it is always crowded and a bit noisy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    46
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food, but they need to expand!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have eaten here once and at their Dupont location several times. The food is consistently excellent, prices are reasonable and the seasonal specials are above-average. I ate here on a weeknight and we were able to be seated immediately. My one problem with this location is the indoor seating - if you are at a regular table (i.e., not in a booth or at the bar), you are in serious jeopardy of jostling elbows with your neighbors. Not a great place for a private conversation, to say the least. Nevertheless, I'll be back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great selection and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Ruku-An was packed when we passed it after 10 pm on a Saturday night, while all the other resturants in the area were emptying out. We went in and were asked where we'd like to sit. We chose a booth which gave us the optimum people watching advantage. The resturant was populated by a diverse group of patrons, young and old, well dressed and casually-dressed.

The waitress was warm and helpful when my husband asked many question regarding various dishes on the huge menu. She freely provided her opinion when asked to choose between dishes for one of the guests. The menu was mostly sushi and fish dishes cooked with a unique Asian twist.

Sushi not usually my personal favorite, because I do not enjoy either the seaweed wrap or the raw fish was prepared with a soy wrap and veggies. It was so good I ate it all. The grilled Chilean seabass was perfectly prepared as was the boullibaise.

While the wine menu was extensive, some of the varieties were unavailable. Also, the padding on the bench was a bit worn. Overall, I would highly recommend this resturant ot anyone visitng Bethesda.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Always a great meal here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is one of our favorite restaurants in Bethesda. THey offer an imaginative assortment of appetizers and some of our favorites such as the Bento boxes. The sushi and sashimi offerings have always been excellent.
THe restaurant is virtually always busy so call for a reservation. The seating tends to be tight due to the popularity of the restaurant. I often find entrees of interest among their specials and the prices , while not a bargain by any means, are fair for the quality of the food.
This is our go to restaurant in Bethesda where there are many good restuarants to choose from.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Thrice happy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Have been there three times and have had the same experience all three. The food is great, the decor is nice, the service and door are so so. Note that it is popular, packed and definitely requires you to be patient until seated.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raku-An Asian Dining & Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Raku-An Asian Dining & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raku-An Asian Dining & Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.