We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Chain Your Kids Will Love: Good for Casual Family Night Out” 3 of 5 stars
Review of California Tortilla

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
California Tortilla
4862 Cordell Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-3011
301-654-8226
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #146 of 296 restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Mexican, Californian
Restaurant details
DC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Local Chain Your Kids Will Love: Good for Casual Family Night Out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My kids swear by the quesadillas at "CT" as we call it, and like nearly every other family around here, we make a pilgrimage here from time-to-time. However, honestly, I don't enjoy the food. (I think Chipotle tastes better). The tortillas are often cold - not warm - and I just find nothing particularly delicious about the food. That said, I'm in the minority in my viewpoint - this local chain is HUGELY popular. This new location is a nice upgrade from their former digs across the street.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

47% Recommend
    4
    6
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Reasonably Tasty - Reasonably Healthy Fast Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just what it says - in a hurry - not a big budget - need to feed kids - this is the place. I have used their catering for a large kids event and they were on time, on task and flexible.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I like this place so much, I read the junk emails from them (specifically Pam, the Queen of Burritos).”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I think I could classify my following of this place as a 'cult following' (I go there as often as once a week), as the food is acceptable (even to my fresh foodie friends), and the atmosphere is lunch perfect (think of it as Chipotle with a non-phony (unless you consider the 80's entirely phony) atmosphere, genuinely friendly staff (we trade glances at baby pictures), and actually inventive food (although it would be nice if they had continuity on some of the specials, like the gyro and chicken club burritos). I often bring co-workers, as it makes for a fast, business-like lunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good fast food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Along the lines of Baha Fresh or Lebanese Taverna in quality, seating is mostly chairs (not benches). Love the tea selection and taco salad!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Not as good as Chipotle but they don't have Queso”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Good variety of burritos and hot sauce.
Can't knock the queso & chips

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Tortilla also viewed

 

Been to California Tortilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California Tortilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.