We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and spicy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok Garden Restaurant

Bangkok Garden Restaurant
4906 Saint Elmo Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-6008
301-951-0670
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 281 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good and spicy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Food is good but you have to like spicy! Very tasty and those of us who like spicy really enjoyed it, but if you don't like spicy, you had better find dishes w/o any spice. Beware

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Awesome Thai good but they have gotten so busy, service while dining in or for delivery could be a very long wait. They need to hire more people! I liked to get the sticky rice (or "sweet rice") instead of plain rice for meal. Excellent mango with sticky rice for dessert.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“BEST THAI FOOD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I have been eating here for 13 years and it is still my favorite place to go in the winter. On a weekend we choose which restaurant to go to and this is our favorite. The food is the best, beats Tara Thai by far. The drunken noodles are good, the chicken basil is amazing. The place renovated a couple years back so now they have a nice bar and T.V. The staff is very nice, we have known them for years. I highly recommend to check this place out because once you do, there is no other Thai place you will want to go.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Thai food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Great meal at this restaurant in trendy Bethesda. Very authentic and great service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A great revisit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We used to have dinner at Bangkok Garden every Friday many years ago. Last Friday, a group of us revisited a BG with a new look. The owner remembered us and welcomed us warmly. We ordered our favorite dishes like Crispy fish with chili and garlic sauce, Bangkok Garden calamari, Pad Thai, Chicken Larb, etc. and, of course, Singha beer. The highlight of the meal was sticky rice with mango which tasted better than we can remember. Everything was wonderful, just like the old days! There were lots of new dishes on the menu which we will have to sample on another visit real soon.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Garden Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bangkok Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangkok Garden Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.