We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange experience, but not the restaurant fault” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House

Ruth's Chris Steak House
7315 Wisconsin Ave, Ste 110E, Bethesda, MD 20814-3207
301-652-7877
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 300 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Strange experience, but not the restaurant fault”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Had another good meal here last week. The portions were huge. The wine was good. The sides were unreal. The steak was done perfect. The real problem was that the building (not restaurant) fire alarm went off 10 minutes into our meal and didn't ever turn off (yes, for the next 90 minutes). Hard to believe. I was disappointed that the restaurant didn't accommodate us. Otherwise, a great meal, although quite expensive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    25
    9
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I ordered surf and turf, and the lobster was better than the steak. I wasn't expecting that. Great bar drinks.

Service was above average.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Predictably RC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Ruth's Chris is predictably very good in all regards (THX CTB/MAB!!), unless you get a rogue wait staff or mad cow, I guess. The steak seems to be more "butter soaked" than I even remember from my last visit but that is so much part of their brand that if you don't want (a lot) of Sizzle, best to go somewhere else. The wine by the glass was a bit skimpy and some of the red selection seemed to have a very high tannin content, possibly evidenced by the "stuff" in the bottom of my glass.

The service and atmosphere was friendly and efficient.

I'd gladly go again but ask for less "Sizzle"...Sigh, I miss the Steakhouse Row in Chicago

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Im from the UK and its really hard to find a good steakhouse anywhere let alone good steak (unless you want to pay silly prices) and I have been to Ruths about 4 times and every time the food is excellent and the service impeccable. Let's face it if the USA can't do steak well then who can?!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Richly deserved reputation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We love the one in Tysons Corner VA--it makes no difference what you order (crab cakes, shrimp, lobster, steak), the food is wonderful and the service is attentative. This is great for a business lunch or special occassion dinner.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth's Chris Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.