We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to chill out on Sunday evening for a few martinis and sliders” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House

Ruth's Chris Steak House
7315 Wisconsin Ave, Ste 110E, Bethesda, MD 20814-3207
301-652-7877
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 307 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place to chill out on Sunday evening for a few martinis and sliders”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Went on a Sunday and sat at bar. Place was seemingly empty, but I later saw the back section had quite a few tables full. great laid back vibe to just drown self in a few martinis and some sliders and fries and wonder where it all went wrong!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    28
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not too expensive if you know what to order.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Celebrating a birthday, not mine, we went to Ruth's Chris in Bethesda. First time there for me. What i did do before we went, was to go online to check the menu. To my surprise, I found a nicely priced three course meal. Choose a started, a main and a desert. A la cart would have been quite a lot more. My steak was perfectly done to my medium-rare request. Started with a Manhattan and finished with a walnut cheesecake. Loved it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ruth's is the best steakhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Yeah, I know this is a hotly debated topic but Ruth's Chris beats all the other steakhouses. Nothing's better than when they bring out that hot sizzling plate and warn you not to touch it and to hold up your napkin to avoid the splatter. And then that first bite, pure heaven. I've been coming here since 1972, have tried all the competition and this is still THE place to come. Our most recent visit was to celebrate our son Andrew's 21st birthday. His girlfriend Mary joined us and it was the first Ruth's experience for both. They absolutely enjoyed it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

very good food and service. Exellent vine list. I recomend this restaurant. The best steak I have ever eat.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown Maryland
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Steak to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My wife and I went to Ruth's Chris tonight. We had a reservation for 6:00 and were greeted and excorted to our table immediately. The staff was very professional and attentitive without being to obtrusive. We ordered our food and wine which came out with perfect timing. My wife had the tomatoe bisque which was very tasty and I had the lobster bisque which again was very good. Our entrees came out a few minutes after we finished the soup but not to soon. Petite filet for my wife and New York Strip for me. The steak was fantastic, best I have ever had, my wife felt the same. We had the mushrooms and asparagus as the sides both done very well. Neither one of us could finish so we have dinner for tomorrow night. An excellent dining experience with a professional staff and food done to perfection. Get ready to fork over some hard earned cash. Our dinner with two glasses of wine was $157 before the tip! Not an every weekend kind of place to go to but well worth it for that special dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth's Chris Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.