We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jaleo

Jaleo
7271 Woodmont Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-2959
301-913-0003
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jaleo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 302 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Elm Street
Transit: We are walking distance from the Bethesda Metro Station on the Red Line.
Virginia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Four of us shared about 10 small plates...everything from rice and mushrooms to flank steak to cauliflower to dates and bacon...and it was all really tasty. Each dish was unique and satisfying. Including 3 wines and 2 beers, the bill was about $110...Waitstaff was excellent, ambiance was busy and fun.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    77
    40
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Tapas are tasty, tinto too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Ate here with a large group of friends. We each ordered one of the many tapas, and a paella for the table. Tapas came very quickly. It took much longer to choose what we wanted than for it to be prepared & served.

We enjoyed the wine - server suggested some wines, but we know & like Spanish wine and choose our own. Nice list of wines.

All was good, and service good. We had delicious dessert - a flan.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A lunch that was healthy, tasty and reasonably price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is restaurant week in Bethesda (MD) so I took advantage of the $15 lunch menu offered by 13 different establishments to visit Jaleo, the Spanish restaurant, for the first time. And I chose wisely -- gaspacho, a healthy fresh spinach dish with apples and nuts and the "piece de resistance" (how do you say that in Spanish?), garlic-sauteed shrimp (gambas al ajillo). I accompanied it with a tasty sangria. By the time I walked out, I had paid $25 (with tax and tip) but it was certainly good value for the dollar. Great taste, just the right proportions and a new dining experience. Oh, did I mention that I walked from home and back via Bethesda's bike trail? Quality living close to Washington DC.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Big Disappointment, Food awful and pricey”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We do not recommend this restaurant to anyone. There were 11 of us and we order at least 25 different tapas and only 3 tasted good (average nothing exceptional) out of the 25. We have never had bad tapas until Jaleo. Shrimp overcooked, Beef have a weird taste, the pee wee potato doesn't even taste like potato, it was dry and tough. The Pasta Paella is a joke, it make Rice a Roni look good. I don't mind paying good price for good food. But this was paying a pricey price for food that tasted like dog food. I would never go back even if the meals are free.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pricey but very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I love this restaurant. It's best to go with several people so you can sample more things. When they have some of their seasonal Spanish hams, you must, must order a dish!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaleo also viewed

 

Been to Jaleo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaleo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.