We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jaleo

Jaleo
7271 Woodmont Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-2959
301-913-0003
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jaleo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 301 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Elm Street
Transit: We are walking distance from the Bethesda Metro Station on the Red Line.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tapas heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Jaleo has long been one of my favorite places to eat, and to bring friends. The varied nature of the menu works well for meat-eaters and vegetarians alike, and I think the dishes have very delectable seasonings and flavors. It can get a bit pricey if you order lots of tapas, but my advice is to order a core number to start with and then order more if you're still hungry. The bread and olive oil is also delicious. I also like the original downtown Washington DC location. The Bethesda location is ambient though can get a bit noisy. There are some tables in the large dining area that tend to be a little quieter, likely due to some acoustic effect. Good to go early, or reserve a table for a larger group.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    86
    74
    40
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Bethesda Tradition”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Good food, pleasant environment. Specializes in tapas Creativity limited, taste only average. Not the most interesting dining spot in the area

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven Corners, Virginia
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Overpriced cocktails”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We really didn't go there to eat, but to have a few drinks before a movie. I ordered a martini with a top shelf vodka and it turned out to be $14. I consider it a little overboard given a fact that they didn't have a specific, and pretty standard, vodka I like (Ketel One or Ciroc). To add insult to injury they serve their martinis in margarita glasses. How hard it is to stock a bar with proper glassware?
On the other hand their Sparkling Wine Sangria With Cava was very delicious. That's how I would remember the place since everything else was unremarkable (even from my previous visits).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great happy hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

While trying to decide on a place for dinner, we read that Jaleo had a happy hour and decided to go there. My son and I loed our coices of tapas (garlic shrimp, calamares fritas, roasted onions with blue cheese and some kind of balsalmic reduction. My husband liked his but the choices were not as good for him since he eats no meat or seafood. Wine and sangria were $4 a glass--pretty good. The hardest part was finding room for all of the dishes on the small table in the bar area!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigantine
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent all around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We were staying in the area, heard about Jaleo, and wanted to give it a try. We had planned on going into Washington DC, but we were tired and decided to eat closer to where we were staying (in Bethesda). We were VERY happy we did!

The food was beyond on par. The timing was perfect, more than satisfied with every dish. However, our waiter made our night. Probably one of the more personable people I've encountered in my life, he was fun, entertaining and warm. He made sure we were satisfied with everything - never pressured us to order more (sometimes this happens with tapas), and really just made the night enjoyable. Even better - we left our credit card there and he personally ran to the parking garage to bring it back to us. Don't remember his name, but really wish I did!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaleo also viewed

 

Been to Jaleo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaleo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.