We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Benihana

Benihana
7935 Wisconsin Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-3619
301-652-5391
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Benihana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #83 of 309 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Woodmont Ave
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Always fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Benihana is one of my daughters' favorite restaurants. And it being the space between their two birthdays, we decided to do their birthday dinner there.

Yes, it can be loud and crowded on a Saturday night. And that can cause a slight lag in service sometimes. But once you're at the hibachi, things tend to run smoothly.

Japanese hibachi is kinda hard to mess up. So the food is usually consistently good. And this visit was no exception. Add in all of the cheesy spatula flipping by our chef, who was noticeably not Japanese, and you have a fun experience for kids. Hot sake helps keep the adults in a proper mindset.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    10
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“If you are in a hurry don't seat at the teppanyaki table”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

If you already enjoy the atmosphere sitting at the teppanyaki table and you don't want to wait, I suggest to ask to be seated at a normal table. The food is not cooked in front of you but the selection is exactly the same with the difference that is fast and you can sit on your own. I had dinner with my daughter and it was extremely good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“a real factory”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

bar filthy and staff not paying attention to cleaning-up. restaurant was a factory - did not ever have that feeling in other benihana establishments. also - while i am always for equal opportunity, the cook staff should be japanese in a japanese restaurant. this is not necessarily about competence, but feel, especially when so much of the feel depends on the staff in front of you.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“I LOVE BENIHANA - JOIN THE CHEF'S TABLE NOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Benihana is one of my favorite hibachi steakhouses. The Bethesda location is conveniently located and has metered parking in the rear and on the side streets. I've never had to wait to be seated longer than 5 minutes, even on busy days. My most resent visit was for my birthday. Since I'm a member of their Chef's Table, I received a $30 gift certificate for my birthday to be used Sunday-Thursday during the month of my birthday. How can you say no to that! My food and service was excellent as usual. Now I just need to sign my husband up so we can get the deal for his birthday too. I hope they still have the program once we have kids and they're 13! :-D

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Came to this restaurant with our guests, who were the first time in Benihana. They were amazed by the fact that the food preparation is organized as a show.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benihana also viewed

 

Been to Benihana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benihana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.