We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bethesda Must” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Foong Lin Restaurant

Foong Lin Restaurant
4613 Willow Ln, Bethesda, MD 20815
301-656-3427
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 275 Restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Bethesda Must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I have lived in Bethesda for most of my life. My family and I have dined at Foong Lin for all these years. The food is always very good. Living a couple of blocks away I often order in and am not disappointed. The food usually arrives as I'm setting down the phone! You can expect great spring rolls, pan fried dumplings, wonderful barbecued spareribs, hot & sour soup... their Peking Duck is always very good as is the Moo Shi. The people that run Foong Lin are the best! Long may it wave!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    11
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Bethesda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This restaurant has outstanding Chinese food, which is served in the dining room or can be delivered to your residence. Great appetizers, including steamed vegetable or pork dumplings, spare ribs, egg rolls, and lettuce-wrapped chicken or vegetables. Excellent soups. Good chow fun. Diet dishes of steamed veg with chicken, shrimp, tofu or beef. This place has all of the usual Chinese dishes and some special ones as well. It also serves a few Thai dishes.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Once Great Chinese Bistro”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I've eaten here for well over 20 years. Not anymore. The menu, staff and interior are all stale. Rumor is that their lease is not being extended and it appears that management has checked out. Too many good places nearby to waste any time here.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Awful food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

almost everything on the plate was bland, beige and just inedible.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“used to be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

they seem to cater to a much older crowd than they used to, bland food, no spices and sort of boring.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foong Lin Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Foong Lin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foong Lin Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.