We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently high quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodmont Grill

Woodmont Grill
7715 Woodmont Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-6003 (Formerly Houston's)
301-656-9755
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 330 Restaurants in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Consistently high quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We are relatively frequent diners at Woodmont and have never had a poor experience there. The grilled artichoke appetizer and veggie burger are my favorites. My partner rates their lemon drop martini a "10" - the standard by which all others are judged. The staff are always pleasant and friendly too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jewelross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Reeuwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, fast service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

A very large restaurants (200 seats) with booths and tables. It is run very efficiently with a huge turnover. The food is typical US style but of a very good quality. I had grilled artichoke (really great!) as starter and tuna (good, not great; no carbs) as entree. Desert selection is limited but good. Our server tried to be funny, made some mistakes, made more jokes about the lousy service, but all in all was efficient and friendly (good wine advice and gave me 2 samples).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ericv58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Are here for lunch on a weekday. Located in the heart of Bethesda, there was a wait for a table even with a RSVP. Service was quick and attentive but definitely felt rushed even when there was no longer a group waiting to be seated. Several times the staff tried to take the remaining appetizer even though we had plenty left. We had spinach and artichoke dip which was delicious, a French dip sandwich piled high with beef, a grilled chicken salad (fresh and very tasty) and 2 crab cake salads. Total bill for 4 small bottled sodas, 1 appetizer and four entrees was $104 before tip...a bit high for lunch but delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EDR1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Still A Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful restaurant continues to have great food in a friendly welcoming atmosphere although it is quite dark. High booths allow dining without hearing all of neighboring tables' conversations. Live jazz is such a treat and a draw. Expect to have interesting conversation if eating at bar. Ribs and special veggie burger are scrumptious. A favorite restaurant after many years

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dctraveler6010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great place to eat in Bethesda! They have their own parking lot right next door-free parking! It is a little pricey ($20 for their famous French Dip sandwich), but everything we had was delicious. This restaurant is part of the Hillstone group. We ate at a sister restaurant in San Francisco. Both places had great food, service and ambience. This place was just right for our anniversary dinner. I would go back again any time!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SGS I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodmont Grill also viewed

 

Been to Woodmont Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing