We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, fast service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodmont Grill

Woodmont Grill
7715 Woodmont Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-6003 (Formerly Houston's)
301-656-9755
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 309 Restaurants in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reeuwijk, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food, fast service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

A very large restaurants (200 seats) with booths and tables. It is run very efficiently with a huge turnover. The food is typical US style but of a very good quality. I had grilled artichoke (really great!) as starter and tuna (good, not great; no carbs) as entree. Desert selection is limited but good. Our server tried to be funny, made some mistakes, made more jokes about the lousy service, but all in all was efficient and friendly (good wine advice and gave me 2 samples).

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    64
    28
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Expensive, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Are here for lunch on a weekday. Located in the heart of Bethesda, there was a wait for a table even with a RSVP. Service was quick and attentive but definitely felt rushed even when there was no longer a group waiting to be seated. Several times the staff tried to take the remaining appetizer even though we had plenty left. We had spinach and artichoke dip which was delicious, a French dip sandwich piled high with beef, a grilled chicken salad (fresh and very tasty) and 2 crab cake salads. Total bill for 4 small bottled sodas, 1 appetizer and four entrees was $104 before tip...a bit high for lunch but delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Still A Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful restaurant continues to have great food in a friendly welcoming atmosphere although it is quite dark. High booths allow dining without hearing all of neighboring tables' conversations. Live jazz is such a treat and a draw. Expect to have interesting conversation if eating at bar. Ribs and special veggie burger are scrumptious. A favorite restaurant after many years

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great place to eat in Bethesda! They have their own parking lot right next door-free parking! It is a little pricey ($20 for their famous French Dip sandwich), but everything we had was delicious. This restaurant is part of the Hillstone group. We ate at a sister restaurant in San Francisco. Both places had great food, service and ambience. This place was just right for our anniversary dinner. I would go back again any time!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Dinner Meeting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I was invited with a couple of business associate to meet with our Chairman. We had a reservations at 5pm and almost everyone arrived on time. Since it was a new experience for most of us, our host ordered 5 appetizers The Thai Noodles, Fried Oysters, House Smoke Salmon, Spinach and Artichoke Dip and Fries. While enjoying the Appetizers we went on with business. The waiter was very attentive and made sure we have everything we needed. Our main course was the famous Hawaiian Rib-Eye. Of course, everyone ordered it to be prepared differently. I unfortunately had to say Medium which meant Medium well. Never order it Medium because although the meat was tender it tasted burnt. But overall i would say the experience was good and will go back and try other dishes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodmont Grill also viewed

 

Been to Woodmont Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodmont Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.