We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner Meeting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodmont Grill

Woodmont Grill
7715 Woodmont Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-6003 (Formerly Houston's)
301-656-9755
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 303 Restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Dinner Meeting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I was invited with a couple of business associate to meet with our Chairman. We had a reservations at 5pm and almost everyone arrived on time. Since it was a new experience for most of us, our host ordered 5 appetizers The Thai Noodles, Fried Oysters, House Smoke Salmon, Spinach and Artichoke Dip and Fries. While enjoying the Appetizers we went on with business. The waiter was very attentive and made sure we have everything we needed. Our main course was the famous Hawaiian Rib-Eye. Of course, everyone ordered it to be prepared differently. I unfortunately had to say Medium which meant Medium well. Never order it Medium because although the meat was tender it tasted burnt. But overall i would say the experience was good and will go back and try other dishes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    47
    24
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Conyers, GA
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Nice light fare, Great price & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting Washington and our friends took us to Woodmont Grill. We arrived at noon on Thursday but only had to wait 10 minutes for a booth.

The prices were pretty reasonable for the DC area considering the quality of the food. I ordered the Thai noodle salad salad with crispy chicken and a side order of tabbouleh. The others had a regular crispy chicken salad and sandwiches.

The service was friendly and quick and the place was very clean. I was impressed with the place and would recommend it without reservation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Tough to get seated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

They are quite inflexible with bar seating and it seems I always wait a LONG period of time to get seated. Food prices are high for what you get as they've recently changed up the menu to justify the price increase. It's close to the office so a go-to for business lunches as an option to Black's across the street.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Not up to the hype”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

When told the wait would be 40-45 minutes, one would expect around that time frame. But when an hour passes and told it would be a few minutes and those few minutes turn into another fifteen, you get a little antsy especially when you are seated after 9pm.
When my wife took a bite of her salmon and it was still cold inside the waitress took it and it was promptly burnt to ensure it was hot enough.
I must include that the manager came to us when we told the waitress we weren't happy. The manager comped our meal but I would rather pay for good meal than get a bad meal for free.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“New to me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Met a friend there for lunch and had fabulous crab cakes with excellent slaw and fries. We both really enjoyed them but $32? Pricey for lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodmont Grill also viewed

 

Been to Woodmont Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodmont Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.