We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoked Salmon App!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodmont Grill

Woodmont Grill
7715 Woodmont Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-6003 (Formerly Houston's)
301-656-9755
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 302 Restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Smoked Salmon App!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Woodmont Grill occupies the space where the former Houston's used to be and it retains the same menu and decor (it appears to be the same restaurant with the name changed). We always start out by ordering our favorite appetizers - warm spinach dip and their smoked salmon. Years ago we were introduced to the smoked salmon by a waiter at the Houston's in Rockville when it was still open. He told us that if we didn't like it, he'd refund our money for this dish. He was right - it is delicious and we order this every time now. Other entrees that we always get is the French Dip and their traditional salad with buttermilk garlic dressing. We recently had dinner at the Woodmont Grill and ordered the usual spinach dip, smoked salmon appetizer, French Dip, plus the grilled chicken salad and the fish special of the night with crab meat. The fish special and French Dip were both good and the spinach dip was brought to us nice and hot and delicious. However, the smoked salmon appeared to be a tad undercooked and the grilled chicken salad was good but not extraordinary given that it comes at a steep price of $17. Service here doesn't appear to be as good as it was when it was Houston's - our server forgot to bring us our soda refill and cleared away the dishes and dip while we were still eating the French Dip. However, the food is still really good and this remains a favorite of ours in the Bethesda area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    58
    27
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food and fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The food and service here were very good. I had the seared tuna with a salad. It was exceptional. They have a decent wine list and the staff is well trained. Impressive place to bring clients or do business. A little pricey. I was disappointed to learn it was not locally owned, but part of a larger corporate chain with a local name.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food, a little pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

This place reminds me very much of Clydes, classic American style and food, nice live jazz set in a semi-formal atmosphere.

Their veggie burger was delicious but for $17 a little pricey. Their babyback ribs were phenomenal, however again a little expensive. If you're going out to celebrate but don't want to mortgage your house over to Mortons this is a good spot to go.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“A first class cozy restaurant in Bethesda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I went there for lunch. The decor is first class, and the service topnotch and very friendly. A welcoming restaurant which keeps the lights dimmed very low, so that, unless you eat at one of the outside tables on the patio, this is really a restaurant perfectly suited for intimate tete a tete meetings. The menu is on the expensive side, but the portions are generous and the food excellent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“We miss Houston's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We recently visted the Woodmont Grill?Houston's because we were craving some of the old favorites from the days Houston's was i Rockville. It did not disappoint.
I always enjoy the Spinach dip appetier and the steamed shrimp are good as well. The daily fish special usually has a crab meat topping in a light sauce which is wonderful. The baked potatoe is large enough to share and that makes for an excellent meal. They offer a number of the dishes that we enjoyed at Houston's and the serivce is always good. Brought back some wonderful memories of the old days in Rockville

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodmont Grill also viewed

 

Been to Woodmont Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodmont Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.