We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My "Go-to" Indian Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kadhai

Kadhai
7905 Norfolk Avenue, Bethesda, MD
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 302 Restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My "Go-to" Indian Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

As other reviewers have noted this place used to be called "Haandi" and used to be on Fairmont Avenue. The location and name have changed, and the menu has a few new items, but the management is still the same and the food is still awesome. If you remember how good the old place was then you won't be disappointed. If you've never been to the old Haandi, or never tried Indian Food in general, well then here's no time like the present.

As the title suggests this is my "go-to" for Indian food, and even though I no longer live in Bethesda, this place remains the standard to which I compare all other Indian food. There are fancier and more expensive places (Bombay Club) in the DC area, and places that are allegedly more traditional (Heritage India - I'm not Indian, I don't know), but for my money I'd take this place.

If you go you should try the crispy spinach or the somosa appetizer. Also the lamb dishes and vegetarian dishes are really quite tasty here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Now Kadhai Restaurant on Norfolk Ave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Thanks to the previous reviewer who mentioned the change of name and address! The food is indeed very good, it is a buffet at lunch time which is well worth the (very reasonable) price especially in week days. I would certainly oftne go to this place if I were around in Bethesda at lunch time. The sunny terrace outside was a great plus.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch Buffet..but I ate too much.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The food at the lunch buffet was excellent. I wish it was a bit more spicy but still good. Nice variety too. The brad was great. That is always my favorite part of a good Indian meal...the bread.

Be warned that it gets very crowded at lunch time. The dining room is uncomfortably packed. If you go for lunch get there around 11:30AM if you want to spend more time at the table and less time standing in line at the buffet.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Deserves a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Very attentive service. We sat outside which was very pleasant. Meals were tasty and well spiced. Will go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Boutique Indian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Being from a rural area, I enjoy eating different cuisines when I have the opportunity. I was in Bethesda for business and always check TripAdvisor for restaurant recommendations.While the name and location may have changed (this was Haandi Restaurant and number 1 on the TripAdvisor site), Kadhai as it is now known offers excellent Indian cuisine in a quiet environment. Service was also very good and all were attentive to our needs. I enjoy curry spiced food and so I looked to that option for my dinner and was not disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kadhai also viewed

 

Been to Kadhai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kadhai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.