We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent cupcakes” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Georgetown Cupcake

Georgetown Cupcake
4834 Bethesda Ave, Bethesda, MD
301-907-8900
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 299 Restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: Dessert
Restaurant details
Arvada, Colorado
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Decent cupcakes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My expectations were high, but I found the cupcakes "decent" but not spectacular. Glad I didn't have to wait or I would have really been disappointed. Flavors had great sounding names but the flavors were underwhelming. There are numerous other cupcake bakeries with less hype and better cupcakes.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    13
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Velvet - yummmm lovely, Can't wait to get back there. Conveniently located in Bethesda row. Coffee and cupcakes.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Quality at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

we opted to visit this instead of the main branch as the waiting time in this branch is minimal, as usual, as a lover of cupcakes, we indulge ourselves when we went there, 2 minutes waiting not bad at all and we had a handful of boxes when we went home from this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I love visiting this location. The wait is always minimal and the quality is always the same. Try the red velvet cupcakes are delish!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Avoid the line in Georgetown and head to this location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Made an online order. Picked up quickly. Took home; wrong cupcakes. Called the shop and picked up free replacement cupcakes the next day.

These a non-filled cupcakes on the smaller side. The tv show accounts for the popularity; not the cupcakes themselves

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgetown Cupcake also viewed

 

Been to Georgetown Cupcake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgetown Cupcake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.