We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good concept for winos” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vino Volo

Vino Volo
7247 Woodmont Avenue, Bethesda, MD
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Vino Volo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 299 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: One block east of the Bethesda Metro station.
Kensington, Md.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good concept for winos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I would have given 3.5 stars, but that isn't a choice..The atmosphere and concept of this new wine-centric spot is unique to the area. This is the first non-airport location for this chain. It is comfortable and server was knowledgeable about the wine selections. The wine flights offered a fun opportunity to do side-by-side comparisons of different grapes from various regions. The food was decent, if not inspired. I enjoyed the salad and chicken sandwich - both were fresh and satisfying. The menu could use a few more interesting choices. I'm not really sure if they offer dessert or coffee since it was mentioned or offered by our server, who was also the bartender on a very slow and empty Thursday afternoon. I could see it being a fun, if somewhat expensive, spot in the evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    14
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Takoma Park, Maryland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Now I know why the restaurant next door was full and this one was not”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Bethesda Row/Woodmont Ave is a high volume upscale area. The wine selections were good... we thoroughly enjoyed the two white wine flights with cheese. That's all we enjoyed. The service was inattentive at best. I had to get up from the table to find wait staff who were busy socializing in the corner completely ignoring every customer. The monk fish was over cooked and clumsily prepared. The salad was soaked in an uninspiring vinaigrette with large rounds of citrus that were hard to cut. If I wanted just cheese and some nice wines, this is an ok choice. But, I won't be surprised if they go out of business.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“great for a social evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We (4) stopped in on a Friday night. Unseasonally warm weather made the sidewalk popular with plenty of room inside. As others have said, the prices are on the high end (even for Bethesda) and the portions are better for tasting than for sharing. And yet the quality of the food is quite good, while the variety and advice on the wines (many of which are available in tasting flights) is a nice change. Our server was did a good job of staying in that space in between neglect and rushing us along--he perfectly matched our pace as we lingered over courses for a 3hr social experience with food and wine as a feature.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not Recommended”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Although the wine bar is terrific and the location very central, the service was terrible and the food protions minimal for the price. Our server took our order immediately and then forgot about us for more than 1 hour. We saw new tables being served and not us.When reminded we were waiting for our order, he asked us to take our order again (obviously he forgot he alrady did it) Then he said it was not his fault but the kitchen was swamped which was weird because only the outdoor patio was busy. Then we had a word with the manager who apologized and the server came back to us saying we had put him in trouble and he did not know if he would still have a job the next day...The manager took one dish out of the bill and while paying the server rushed us out saying other guests were waiting for our table. I will go back for wine tasting but will forget about the food!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This restaurant is new (to me) since I was last in Bethesda in 2007!
The food was delicious and the service was good. The wine menu is varied and interesting. Would highly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vino Volo also viewed

 

Been to Vino Volo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vino Volo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.