We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and great flamenco music and dance!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Del Sol - CLOSED

Plaza Del Sol
4932 St Elmo Ave, Bethesda, MD
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Southwestern
Restaurant details
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Delicious and great flamenco music and dance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Went here with my two old college roommates for a reunion dinner. It was great to have live music and dancing in the background but for it to be quiet enough that we could still catch up. I had the beef enchiladas and they were delicious. The queso fundido was a little different than I expected (not very dip-like) but still yummy. Margaritas were excellent too :) Highly recommend.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    0
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olney, Maryland, United States
1 review
“The best food and the best service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The food and the attention at Plaza del Sol are excellent, the food is so taste with a lot of variety well presented, and the prices very affordable, specially for the location, restaurants in Bethesda are expensive. I highly recommend this Restaurant. The personnel are very friendly and attentive, I really enjoy a lot eating at this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
490 reviews 490 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
“Definitely worth stopping in...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great place. Intimate very non-chain looking which is great (and it's not a chain). The owners were so friendly they actually let us park in their parking spot b/c we didn't have any change for the meters.

When we got there it was empty, but interestingly, as we were leaving (around 8:30) the place almost filled up (like we were in Espana).

Staff and owners are top notch and aim to make your experience phenomenal. The drinks were excellent- we enjoyed a few types of margaritas. A couple people got a kick out of the one that has a pony-sized Corona in the glass.

The chips are delicately thin and perfect. The salsa was piping hot (temp-wise) which was not to my liking at all. I couldn't taste the nuances in the flavors. However, some people must like this. The queso dip was decent but arrived to us cold. They apologized quickly and warmed it up for us.

The fajitas were quite good- high quality meat was used. One of the owners shared a different type of rice and black beans with us during the meal. You could tell they have pride in their restaurant. I'd give a 4.5 if I could b/c that would be the perfect ranking, but 4 is too low. So they get 5!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Best Tex Mex in Bethesda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

There's a fair amount of choices for Tex Mex fare in downtown Bethesda--Guapo's, Uncle Julio's Rio Grande, Tia Queta, to name just a few. And they all have something to commend them. One of the newest kids on the block, Plaza del Sol, is a refreshing change from those old standbys, however. This restaurant pays more attention to what it puts on the plate than those other places do, probably because PdS is a smaller, family-owned restaurant and the others have perfected systems of mass producing their food for the hungry crowds.

You might miss PdS if you are walking briskly. It is a narrow building tucked in between other restaurants, and it's easy to miss the sign. There is also a narrow patio adjacent to the building where you can eat outside in nice whether.

Inside, the seating area is also long and thin, with tables along each side. The ambiance is dark but pleasant. When I've been there, the servers have been pretty new, but what they lacked in experience they made up with enthusiasm. They were also very open to our questions about food preparation, etc.

To start, the chips are hot and delicious, with just the right amount of salt. I ordered a frozen margarita to acompany it, and I was expecting the usual overly sweet, minimal-alcohol concoction. Instead, the alcohol totally overpowered the mix, so much so that it was difficult to drink. The server kindly replaced the drink after I abashedly admitted it was too strong.

My party tried a variety of dishes, all delicious, and all made with subtle flavors. Even the fajitas defied the usual Tex Mex fare, seasoned in a way that made it particularly tender and tasty. Salads were also very good. While they weren't as big as something you'd get at one of the chain restaurants, the quality of the ingredients was superior: fresher, crispier, and more vibrant.

If you're looking for a Tex Mex experience in Bethesda, just this once pass up the old standards and give PdS a try. I bet you'll be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
“Great Carne Asada”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Service was casual but friendly and attentive. Very good "Tex-Mex" cuisine but the pleasant surprise was the delicious Carne Asada(skirt steak) enjoyed with a fine bottle of Spanish red wine and the usual Mexican accoutrements.

The staff seemed a bit disorganised, but made up for it with good humour. The atmosphere (surroundings, decor, furniture) was ordinary but quiet and pleasant.

While most of the food offerings are average, the daily specials are notable in quality(and quantity) and attest to the competence of the chef and pride of presentation.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Del Sol also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.