We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strathmore

Strathmore
5301 Tuckerman Lane, Bethesda, MD 20852-3385
301 581 5100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 Attractions in Bethesda
Attraction details
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is an amazing venue to see performances. The seats are comfortable and you can see the show from almost any seat.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    14
    4
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wide-ranging performance programs, beautiful venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Strathmore is a first-rate performing arts center, outside Washington, DC. Easy to reach by Metro; and the Grovesvenor Metro stop has a parking garage with free parking on concert performance nights.
Marin Alsop, artistic director and conductor of the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra (the orchestra plays both, at the Strathmore, and at the Meyerhoff Hall in Baltimore), she has put together engaging programs, pairing much-loved classics with new commissions, easy to-get-to-know programs from movie scores to Star Wars etc. They are working hard to get a diverse music audience to the concerts. Touring acts, from Pat Metheney to Flamenco or Latin Big Band Jazz spice up the programs. The accoustics of the beautiful hall are great.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Venue for the Arts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I recently attended a musical performance at Strathmore, and was very impressed with the Music Center. The design is beautiful and the Center has wonderful acoustics, which made for a very enjoyable evening. I've also visited the Mansion in the past to see some of the art exhibitions, and it was a visual treat. It's great that the venue is easily accessible by Metro and has ample free parking.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Over priced art projects from Michaels”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

There were several paintings a few photographs and plenty sculptures....
I can say that I know a little about art and I understand that beauty was and is in the eye of the beholder… However! When you put the price tag of $2600 for a wire basket with silk flowers that look like they were left out in the rain for a year to be faded and weathered I start to question the taste level of people they are trying to sell to. There were also stacks of square pieces of wood. Now I can understand if these pieces were making some type of shape or giving some type of texture or color but they weren’t. They were pieces that looked more like left over scrap plywood that the creator glued together… $2300???? I would hide my wallet.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Love the venue, not the food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

WE love coming to Strathmore. All the seats are great, the sound is amazing. But they are missing out on providing a decent restaurant. There are very few places in the nearby area to eat. But the Strathmore restaurant is like eating in the airport while you are waiting for your flight. No ambiance, no privacy, loud, etc. They should consider creating a nice restaurant there. Anyway, we love the place for its music and dance.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strathmore also viewed

 

Been to Strathmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strathmore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.