We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very good lobster rolls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luke's lobster

Luke's lobster
7129 Bethesda Lane, Bethesda, MD 20814
301 718 1005
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 297 restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very, very good lobster rolls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

These are fantastic lobster rolls. Hard to turn down the buttery and messy goodness, and I appreciate the interesting beer and soda choices. If a little more lobster came in each roll, I would have given them a perfect score. Still though, you should go.

Also, hot apple cider in the winter is a great.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    17
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Simply Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Best lunch I've had since who know's when. The lobster rolls are perfect in terms of the lobster and quality of the bread. Almost an emotional experience. The clam chowder came a close second. A little light on on the actual clam but the tast was perfect. Finished all off with crab claws.Would be nice if there was more seating (this one only holds about 10 at a time and it was too cold to sit outside.)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I was craving a lobster roll (having lived in Massachusetts) and I found Luke's Lobster. I was able to call in my order and pick it up quickly. We got the Noah's Ark, which is two lunch boxes filled with half of the shrimp, crab and lobster rolls. Just delicious! The bread was soft and sweet and the meats were definitely the stars of the sandwich. Very little condiments, which is how I remember lobster rolls. It's a little difficult to find, if you're not from the area. The street they are on is actually a pedestrian only street, so park in the garage and you're right there. Also, it is not an eat-in location so be prepared to get your food to go. The employees were very nice and the food delicious. Luke's Lobster is definitely on my to go back to list when I visit DC/MD again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tasty dinner on the run”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Saturday evening in Bethesda. Had the combo with a half each of the shrimp, crab, and lobster. Lobster was the favorite here. Rolls were perfect.

SODA choices were sublime...taste them all!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, IL
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A Taste of Maine in Maryland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

If you love "lobsta", crab and shrimp then this place is for you! Served on true New England style buns, these seafood delicacies are fresh & delicious. Their creamy clam chowder is great as are the meaty crab claws. Their handcrafted "Maine Root" drinks come in 6 flavors: root beer, mexicane cola, blueberry, ginger brew, diet cola & lemonade. My wife & I especially liked the blueberry. Their indoor seating is limited & there are tables & benches in a covered outdoor area. Jason & Chad said that they'll have heating lamps for when it gets colder. Carryouts are available. They've only been open 4 months, but we wish them every success. The next time we're in Bethesda, we'll stop by for another delicious taste of Maine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luke's lobster also viewed

 

Been to Luke's lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luke's lobster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.