We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a pizza joint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haven Pizzeria

Haven Pizzeria
7137 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #38 of 292 restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
East Coast USA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“It's a pizza joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Am a bit confused, since Bethesda has 150 plus restaurants, some of which are top draft, and Haven is rated in the top 3, so I decided to have lunch there and make my own opinion. The decor is just right for a pizza joint - in a word, functional. Yes, the pizza is pretty good. Since I am originally Italian, it's not quite exactly fabulous, since I found the crust a bit "bready", but it's ok and the prior reviewer is correct that watching the oven is fun. I eat out a lot and my pet peeve is whether restaurants bus the used plates back to the kitchen, and no they dump them in a bin under the bar, which I personally don't like. Anyway, do go there, but top 3 in Bethesda??? Something's awry with this rating system.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    16
    23
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Pizza like I've eaten in Italy. Thin and crispy crust, just the right amount of cheese, and a light tomato sauce. No garlic or oregano in the sauce might make it seem bland to some, but I like the fresh tomato taste. Excellent, lightly dressed salad was large enough to share. Not crowded on a weekday evening, and service was prompt and friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase MD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Consistently wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Pizza is fabulous, fresh salads. Roasted red peppers filled with yummy melted cheese served in little cast iron frying pan - ask for extra crust to sop up the oil in the fry pan!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable dinner, but you need to go if only to see the oven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Have tried Haven on weekends but the wait was too long. Finally went on a rainy Monday night and seated immediately. The place is decorated nicely in muted tones. The wine selection looked impressive though we don't drink. Server was attentive and friendly. The roasted red pepper appetizer was so good I saved some to put on top of the pizza. Romano salad very good and dressed perfectly. We got a white spinach & mushroom pizza which was the best white pizza I've ever had. Mozzarella instead of the usual fontina cheese used on white pizzas, and the crust was fantastic. Make sure you watch a little while the action at the massive coal fired oven.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Haven Bethesda md”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The best pizza I've had outside of Italy. Have the arugula salad and ice cream for desert. You can't go wrong at Haven. We sat at the bar... Our bartender Justin was awesome!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haven Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Haven Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haven Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.