We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haven Pizzeria

Haven Pizzeria
7137 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 296 restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Pizza like I've eaten in Italy. Thin and crispy crust, just the right amount of cheese, and a light tomato sauce. No garlic or oregano in the sauce might make it seem bland to some, but I like the fresh tomato taste. Excellent, lightly dressed salad was large enough to share. Not crowded on a weekday evening, and service was prompt and friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    16
    23
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase MD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Consistently wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Pizza is fabulous, fresh salads. Roasted red peppers filled with yummy melted cheese served in little cast iron frying pan - ask for extra crust to sop up the oil in the fry pan!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable dinner, but you need to go if only to see the oven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Have tried Haven on weekends but the wait was too long. Finally went on a rainy Monday night and seated immediately. The place is decorated nicely in muted tones. The wine selection looked impressive though we don't drink. Server was attentive and friendly. The roasted red pepper appetizer was so good I saved some to put on top of the pizza. Romano salad very good and dressed perfectly. We got a white spinach & mushroom pizza which was the best white pizza I've ever had. Mozzarella instead of the usual fontina cheese used on white pizzas, and the crust was fantastic. Make sure you watch a little while the action at the massive coal fired oven.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Haven Bethesda md”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The best pizza I've had outside of Italy. Have the arugula salad and ice cream for desert. You can't go wrong at Haven. We sat at the bar... Our bartender Justin was awesome!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a unique - tomato pie - as they call it. Light, cheesy, lots of choices. Specials make it interesting any day of the week. Great location on Wisconsin Avenue. Easy parking. Very nice atmosphere. I immediately thought of bringing our whole (big) family here for dinner sometime. Reasonable prices. They serve gelato too! It was fun watching them make the pizzas from their open kitchen. The crust is thin and light with lots of flavor. I am going back today for lunch with women friends . When my husband heard where we were going he said he is goin g to join us!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haven Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Haven Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haven Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.