We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Festive, unpretentious, and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Louisiana Kitchen & Bayou Bar

Louisiana Kitchen & Bayou Bar
4907 Cordell Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-2528
301-652-6945
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 299 Restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Festive, unpretentious, and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Not being a local, I just happened upon Louisiana Kitchen while wandering the streets, foraging for food with a handful of other convention-goers. I'd go back here; they had a tempting variety on their menu. I wasn't really hungry, but I knew I needed to eat something, so I ordered what sounded like a small portion. Hmm, maybe they don't have small portions. My cajun-roasted chicken was very good, just slightly dry. The vegetable jambalaya was a tasty & suitable complement to the chicken. The portions were hefty, and I didn't make it to the two biscuits. The service was prompt, friendly and accomodating (separate checks mentioned after the fact, enough to make most servers grimace). Most items on the menu were very reasonably priced.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to go for fun food and ambiance and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I go here for special occasions when we want good food and service at an affordable price. The restaurant is small and attractive, but there is enough space between tables to have some privacy.
The cajun food is very good and you can't beat the prices. It's truly affordable. The service is good. We're fans in particular of their Valentine's Day menu.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Really good Cajun food in an unpretentious and fun atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We used to go to the predecessor of this joint which was called louisiana Express.
We were so upset when it closed its doors. We thought that was it but then discovered that louisiana express had been reincarnated into Louisiana kitchen and bayou bar. One of the employees opened the new restaurant after the original owner passed away.
Same great food but some very nice new additions to the menu. Food is served with piping hot biscuits which should not be missed.
My husband always gets the spicy rotisserie chicken and jambalaya which he shares with one of our sons.
Our older son usually gets the steak sandwich and I normally ask for the poached eggs served on blackened catfish .
Today I tried the house special French toast which was AMAZING!
Very crispy on the outside and soft and moist on the inside . It comes sprinkled with sugar and I of course had it with maple syrup. As always I had the hot cafe au lait served in a bug glass mug.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovin' the Bayou”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The Muffaletta's are good, so are the po' boys. I love the Jambalaya and Gumbo. My favorite is the Crawfish Etouffee - I'm getting hungry writing this!

Haven't been but I've been told their Sunday Brunch is very good.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“good food, brunch and lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

there last weekend visiting family. our son suggested it. wife had the french toast with ham. couldnt finish it due to he portion size [i did]. delicious. the ham was grilled. no fat. great .
our son and i had the shrimp po boy. spicy but with the added cucumber slice it mellowed the overall tang. nice touch. popular place, as we had to wait about 20 min. no big deal. but service is a bit slow. but with great people, who cares.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louisiana Kitchen & Bayou Bar also viewed

 

Been to Louisiana Kitchen & Bayou Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louisiana Kitchen & Bayou Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.