We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous take out place - best in Bethesda” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Pollo

Don Pollo
7007 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 307 Restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Tremendous take out place - best in Bethesda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Definitely the best fire-grilled/rotissery chicken. The spices and seasoning are great. The sides are fantastic. Get the Plaintains. Get the Yuca. Get the black bean pico.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Chicken done right!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Love their chicken - it's juicy and well seasoned. I also like their yucca, corn pico, and plantains. When I want to go healthy, their chicken salad is also very good.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fresh, fast and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The food was very flavorful, fresh and chicken was juicy and tender. The macaroni and cheese was really great! The service was friendly and fast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Gold Mine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Want to succulent, tender roosted chicken with two tasty sides? This is the place for lunch or diner. Look around, the diners are happy, smiling, and busily devouring their tasty chicken. Really efficient, your order is out is 3-5 minutes and you can sit down and watch some soccer game being played in some South American city.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, MD
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Best Spot for a Quick Lunch Hour in Bethesda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I can't tell you the number of times I've been to Don Pollo in the past few years. It's just a short ride from my work in downtown Bethesda and I probably go there about 40% of the time I go out for lunch. What's not to like? The food is fresh, the service is friendly and prompt, there's always seating and the best part is that you can get lunch for about $6. And it's a filling, fresh hot lunch. What's not to like! My favorite there is the Chop Chop - chicken off the bone with rice, beans and salad. Also I keep an eye out for whenever they have chicken tamales as a lunch special. And for those days when you need a helping of extra comfort, there is mac n' cheese. It's the best!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Pollo also viewed

 

Been to Don Pollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Pollo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.