We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous take out place - best in Bethesda” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Pollo

Don Pollo
7007 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 296 restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Tremendous take out place - best in Bethesda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Definitely the best fire-grilled/rotissery chicken. The spices and seasoning are great. The sides are fantastic. Get the Plaintains. Get the Yuca. Get the black bean pico.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    11
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Chicken done right!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Love their chicken - it's juicy and well seasoned. I also like their yucca, corn pico, and plantains. When I want to go healthy, their chicken salad is also very good.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fresh, fast and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The food was very flavorful, fresh and chicken was juicy and tender. The macaroni and cheese was really great! The service was friendly and fast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Gold Mine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Want to succulent, tender roosted chicken with two tasty sides? This is the place for lunch or diner. Look around, the diners are happy, smiling, and busily devouring their tasty chicken. Really efficient, your order is out is 3-5 minutes and you can sit down and watch some soccer game being played in some South American city.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, MD
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Best Spot for a Quick Lunch Hour in Bethesda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I can't tell you the number of times I've been to Don Pollo in the past few years. It's just a short ride from my work in downtown Bethesda and I probably go there about 40% of the time I go out for lunch. What's not to like? The food is fresh, the service is friendly and prompt, there's always seating and the best part is that you can get lunch for about $6. And it's a filling, fresh hot lunch. What's not to like! My favorite there is the Chop Chop - chicken off the bone with rice, beans and salad. Also I keep an eye out for whenever they have chicken tamales as a lunch special. And for those days when you need a helping of extra comfort, there is mac n' cheese. It's the best!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Pollo also viewed

 
Bethesda, MD
Bethesda, MD

Been to Don Pollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Pollo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.