We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Peruvian chicken” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Don Pollo

Don Pollo
7007 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 301 Restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good Peruvian chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Good Peruvian chicken rotisserie in the heart of Bethesda. In our opinion this place comes in a close second to the best Pollo Rico in the area - the Leisure World Crisp'n'Juicy. Prices are typical for Peruvian Chicken: $20 for a whole chicken with sides and a soda.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wow this place is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great fast service and excellent quality and tasty food! Try the green sauce (spicy but worth it). The price and value is unbeatable and this place is always consistently great. Kid friendly too!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quick, cheap, and delicious chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is my absolute favorite place to eat in Bethesda. I get takeout at least once a week. It's pretty simple inside but the food is outstanding. The chicken portion is large, perfectly cooked (crispy skin outside and juicy inside), and you get generous portions of the sides. My favorites are the yucca, plantains, and side salad. The food is ready within minutes of your order. The price is about $7 a plate, so it's a perfect weeknight meal if you don't feel like cooking or spending a lot of money on eating out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, VA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Simple, fresh, and delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Great place for take out. The chicken is wonderful. I generally go for the 1/4 chicken, salad and black beans with pico de gallo. Everything is always fresh and delicious. There are no complicated menus. Perfect for lunch.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pretty good Peruvian chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Since leaving the DC area to move back to Boston, one of the things I miss most are the ubiquitous Peruvian chicken places. I'm not going to start a religious war by mentioning my own faves but Don Pollo was right down the street from our hotel in Bethesda.

There chicken was just the way it should be: moist and flavorful (I had a dark quarter). The rice and beans side was pretty good though the coleslaw was mediocre. Got mac and cheese for the toddlers and they were in heaven with the overcooked noodles and 'Kraft-style" cheese sauce (it's nothing fancy or gourmet). The big win, though, was the black bean salad: black beans, corn, red onion, tomatoes and cilantro over lettuce with a lime dressing - all the veggies were incredibly fresh and flavorful - truly one of the best salads I've had in a while.

So, not my favorite Peruvian chicken place but it scratched my itch and I'd be happy to go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Pollo also viewed

 

Been to Don Pollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Pollo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.