We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, fresh, and delicious.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Pollo

Don Pollo
7007 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 278 Restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Fairfax Station, VA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Simple, fresh, and delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Great place for take out. The chicken is wonderful. I generally go for the 1/4 chicken, salad and black beans with pico de gallo. Everything is always fresh and delicious. There are no complicated menus. Perfect for lunch.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pretty good Peruvian chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Since leaving the DC area to move back to Boston, one of the things I miss most are the ubiquitous Peruvian chicken places. I'm not going to start a religious war by mentioning my own faves but Don Pollo was right down the street from our hotel in Bethesda.

There chicken was just the way it should be: moist and flavorful (I had a dark quarter). The rice and beans side was pretty good though the coleslaw was mediocre. Got mac and cheese for the toddlers and they were in heaven with the overcooked noodles and 'Kraft-style" cheese sauce (it's nothing fancy or gourmet). The big win, though, was the black bean salad: black beans, corn, red onion, tomatoes and cilantro over lettuce with a lime dressing - all the veggies were incredibly fresh and flavorful - truly one of the best salads I've had in a while.

So, not my favorite Peruvian chicken place but it scratched my itch and I'd be happy to go back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Best Chicken in the Bethesda / DC Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Only discovered this place this year, but thank goodness ! Having tried every chicken place in the area, includining Nando's Peri-Peri, we can honestly say this is the MOST delicious chicken we've ever had. The chicken is ready very quickly, it's consistently perfectly cooked, and the marinade is divine. The sides are also nice and varied. It's fantastic for take out. For about $20, you can have a really nice sized meal for 2 - not that easy to find anymore in this town !

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

I love this place. I work right down the street from Don Pollo. The chicken is amazing - flavorful, crispy on the outside and tender on the inside, moist, seasoned perfectly. The sides are excellent as well. It's always very busy in there, but I've never had to wait longer than 3 minutes for my lunch. Fast, friendly service.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Pollo also viewed

 

Been to Don Pollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Pollo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.