We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can have any main course with Groupon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chef Tony's

Chef Tony's
4926 St Elmo, Bethesda, MD
301-654-3737
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 299 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Old Georgetown Road
Transit: Easy Three block walk from Bethesda Metro station. At the top of the escalator turn left slightly and proceed to third traffic light on Old Georgetown Road. Turn right on St Elmo, we are on right hand side at 4926. Multiple public bus stops also within walking distance.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“You can have any main course with Groupon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We went there for the first time with a groupon purchase. As it turned out, we were allowed to order main course from the regular menu with a $5 surcharge. This was a great deal, as my husband liked bronzino and it was not on the 3-course menu. Everything we ordered was very good, particularly the bronzino. The 3-course group deal also give my cocktail two dollars off. There is a parking garage right across the street. If you like fish, this is an excellent place. The service was also very good. We will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefTonyMarciante, Owner at Chef Tony's, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Your words are so kind! What can we do in the future to get fives all across-the-board? Thanks again for taking the time to write to us, my staff and I review these daily, I really appreciate your input!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    30
    10
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great value with Groupon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I bought a Groupon for $40 that entitled us to a three course meal for two! We went on a Thursday night and the place was full. It is a small restaurant with many tables for two. We were seated near the window into the kitchen, not great but easy to find our waiter! As other reviewers have noted, Chef Tony is front and center--greeting at the door, checking on the food, generally everywhere.

I had romaine salad, parmesan crusted cod and cheesecake. My husband had crab soup, monk fish with lobster sauce and crème brulee. All were good but my meal was better. The salad was fresh and plentiful and the dressing--balsamic. The lettuce had been seared and the taste! The cod was delicious and light. His soup had been under the heat lamp and although it was tasty, it did have a film on the top. The monkfish was tasty but very rich. Both desserts were very good.

Our waiter was good but the restaurant was full and he had his hands full. Occasionally, we had to flag him down.

With the 3 course meal, you are offered 20% off a bottle of wine--a nice extra. The bill was delivered two ways--as if we had no Groupon and with the discount. I assume this was to show us what we saved and to make sure we tipped on the full price. A sure sign of getting older is that I am always astounded by what things cost these days.

We will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“We love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our son and his wife live in Bethesda and this is the "special" place we love to take them whenever we come to visit. They enjoy it so much that they dine here on their own too.

The menu changes every day and the food is is always fresh and imaginative, beautifully served. We are all fish eaters and there is always something different to choose from. The desserts are amazing.

The service is excellent, and Tony himself is always keeping an eye on everything, alert for any glitch. Whenever possible, Tony makes it a point to welcome each party who walks in and to thank them for coming when they leave.

Furthermore, diners who have made reservations (and I would not recommend going without reservations, even on a week night) will receive a phone call the next day making sure that everything was pleasing and thanking them yet again.

The restaurant is always full and bustling, casually elegant and energetic. Again, make sure you have made reservations!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS PLACE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a new place that me & my honey went to on Saturday. LOVE the way we were greeted upon arriving & while walking to our table. LOVED the intimacy, the atmosphere & the fact that Chef Tony is actually roaming the floor instead of staying behind the scene. The menu options were just enough & not too overwhelming. Our waiter was superb in explaining the dishes to us & making accommodations if we needed them. I had the Jumbo Shrimp Pasta which was EXCELLENT! Made with the right spices & not overdoing it with the sauce. My honey had the Chicken PIcatta & he absolutely LOVED IT!! I know that my honey liked the place because he was still raving about it the following day up until the night. When we left out we were thanked for dining in with them, We will definitely be returning to this restaurant asking for the same waiter. This place definitely is in our Top 5!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefTonyMarciante, Owner at Chef Tony's, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
What an amazing review! I really appreciate all your kind comments, I will be sharing this with my staff… Thanks again for coming and we look forward to see you next time ! Please say hi and seek me out the next time you're in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fish with a Flair!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and I have eaten here several times and we've always come away impressed with the quality, service and imaginative menu. Tony really specializes in fish. It's always fresh and with a terrific presentation. I started with the grilled Caesar salad, which is excellent and plenty big enough for two, The romaine is very lightly grilled, but you somehow get that grilled flavor without really wilting the romaine, and the balsamic drizzle is a great accent. My wife was very happy with the crab soup. Entrees were monkfish fillets for her and I had Massachusetts Cod. The cod dish had roasted potato, tomato, white beans and chorizo. They all retained their individual flavors while making for a wonderful dish. Desserts were cheesecake and a caramelized sweet potato pie that were a perfect end to the dinner.

The service was attentive and our server Axel had an excellent knowledge of the menu. Tony's is not a large place, but the atmosphere is relaxed and convivial. There is a nice wine list with a very good range of prices. Chef Tony is very friendly, and his attitude is reflected in his restaurant. Prices are reasonable, especially for the excellent quality and preparation. If you are looking for a great seafood dinner, Chef Tony's won't disappoint!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Tony's also viewed

 

Been to Chef Tony's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chef Tony's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.