We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy, but tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Panas Gourmet Empanadas

Panas Gourmet Empanadas
4731 Elm Street, Bethesda, MD 20814
301-657-7371
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 288 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Panas specializes in Latin fusion gourmet empanadas, crescent- shaped turnovers, stuffed with well seasoned combinations of meats, vegetables, spices, fruits, and sweets. Our recipes are inspired by the idea of Latin Fusion cuisine; a culinary concept based on creating new recipes by combining traditional and modern culinary techniques and mixing ingredients from different countries in the Americas. The only empanadas’ tradition we want to preserve is that empanadas a great idea and fun package for food.
Level Contributor
147 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not fancy, but tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The setting is basic: plain tables and chair, order at the counter. The food is great, however, and they would probably charge twice as much to add more ambience and service!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy food, fast and supper friendly service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Had the carne and the pork. Can't decide which I like better, but both were excellent! For what it is, a cute, clean place, with fast service and good prices, it couldn't be better.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Fast food, relatively healthy, great service, place was clean and friendly. Beer recommendation was good! Recommended to me by a local and deserved the recommendation.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Empanadas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We took some empanadas back to the room and re-warmed them which isn't the best way to evaluate food but they were still very tasty. While waiting for our order we saw the other food which looked and smelled delicious. Worth a try.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Welcoming atmosphere and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I only got to the P Street location but went back many times. Staff were so friendly and willingly offered advice to a novice empanada-eater. My favorites were the Chicken Pesto, Smoked eggplant and Popeye (spinach). The Salsa Verde (green) and the Pimento sauce were my personal favorites. Good selection of beers on offer as well but my personal favorite was the Chilmes brew from Argentina. Well done to a stunning team of people who are looking after a great concept.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panas Gourmet Empanadas also viewed

 

Been to Panas Gourmet Empanadas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panas Gourmet Empanadas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.