We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Casual Spot With Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tommy Joe's Restaurant

Tommy Joe's Restaurant
4714 Montgomery Ave, Bethesda, MD
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 300 Restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining style: Casual Dining
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Friendly Casual Spot With Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Popped in for quick dinner. The staff were very friendly and I was looked after by several staff in a team like environment. Had the fried crab cake sandwich which I really enjoyed. This is a bar/restaurant so if your looking for fine dining move on but if your looking for a nice casual friendly bar/restaurant with great friendly service and above average food I would recommend it. I would go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

There are so few friendly non-chain restaurants out there that Tommy Joe's simply stands out. Super staff, great food, raw backyard feel which is so comforting in the midst of a metropolis. I will keep coming back for more and more...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Nice Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This was a nice indoor/outdoor bar. Their crab dip was just Ok but the motserella sticks were huge. They were biggest mozzarella sticks I have ever had. I would defiantly go back if I was in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Food for a Spirts Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Nice ambience. Can sit inside or out. Good service. Amazingly great food for a Sports Bar. Try the mahi tuna or crab cake.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Bethesda Bar Scene Stalwart”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Has been around for many years. Across the street from the Metro in downtown Bethesda. Classic meet market.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy Joe's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tommy Joe's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tommy Joe's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.