We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavorful Indian Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tandoori Nights

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tandoori Nights
7236 Woodmont Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814
3016564002
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 296 restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Flavorful Indian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Our group of five enjoyed the food and ambience at this Bethesda restaurant on a recent summer night. The interior is a jewel with turmeric-colored walls with saffron-colored accents and glimmering black tabletops. Service was prompt and consistent. We enjoyed the calamari appetizer though it was stingy on the calamari. A novelty was the spinach appetizer--it reminded me of kale chips with pleasant Indian spices. We ordered and then shared an eggplant dish which was everyone's favorite, a lamb dish with large pieces of lamb, and saag paneer. The food tended to be more puréed than I'm accustomed. Everything flavorful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    8
    13
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Brownsville, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I enjoyed my dinner here. I came here with a coworker. We got a variety of kabobs and naan. We also got an eggplant vegetable dish. All dishes were delicious and enough to split between two girls. The waitress was so nice. We didn't like one waiter who was pretty standoffish. I think he just misunderstood us. Overall it was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food in Bethesda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

A stylish restaurant with a large menu, good prices, and attentive staff. The food was ready quickly and reasonably priced. There is no children's menu, but enough variety that we could find a nice mix of dishes that satisfied everyone. Two adults and three children spent $57 (before tip) on 3 main dishes, 2 orders of Naan, and 1 order of Samosa. Certainly worth going back again; we would recommend this to our friends.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A nice family dinner place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

It was one of our best Indian night out. We have lived in places where Indian food is the food of the nation, so we know what good Indian food taste like. We all loved the food and thought it was very close to the real thing! Will go back again! Enough to choose from, even for our vegetarian daughter!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice decor but have had better Indian food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Very good setting for festive group meal but I did not think the vegetarian food was anything special. The service was very friendly and patient, and as I said the setting was very pleasant. It also seemed rather expensive compared to local competition, that said, probably still a good choice for a mixed veg and non veg group especially given strong service and decor,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoori Nights also viewed

 
Bethesda, MD
 
Bethesda, MD

Been to Tandoori Nights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tandoori Nights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.