We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tandoori Nights

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tandoori Nights
7236 Woodmont Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814
3016564002
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 301 Restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A pleasant evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

In the mood for Indian food during our stay in Bethesda, my wife and I found Tandoori Nights in an upscale area of restaurants and shops near our hotel. The decor is simple but elegant, the service friendly though a little confused, with several people taking care of us at various times. We ordered the chicken korma, lamb pasanda, and Kashmiri naan, fortunately not choosing three entrees to share between us as we often do, as the servings were relatively large and came with plenty of basmati rice. Both of the main dishes were spicier than we expected, the lamb especially so, though both were well prepared, and the naan was excellent. We would eat at Tandoori Nights again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    15
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Md.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been to Tandoori Nights several times. The food is good, although not the best Indian food in Bethesda or Rockville. The service is very accommodating. The prices are reasonable. So if you want Indian food usually without a long wait, this is a good place to go on the main strip in Bethesda.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Park, Maryland
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food in Bethesda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I would recommend this restaurant, the food is good and the serviced matched. I asked for super spicey but the spice level was barely noticable, so if you don't like spicey food don't be scared off by previous comments.
Good range of dishes, very comfortable and location is excellent if you are going out to the movies afterwards.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great for 8 people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were a group of eight people, children and adults. We were concerned that it was a Saturday night and we would have a problem being seated. (Tandoori Nights does not take reservations). We waited a few minutes while staff set a table in a private alcove in the back of the restaurant. It was perfect. It was quiet so we could hold a conversation with everyone at the table. Service was excellent. We had eaten there before and enjoyed another delicious dinner. We shared dishes and every dish was well prepared.
Highly recommend Tandoori NIghts.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Beyond Spicy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We took our kids for dinner and asked for mild spice in all of our dishes. I can handle a lot of spice but wanted the kids to ease into Indian cuisine without being turned off by too much heat. Holy cow - our dishes were so spicy even I couldn't eat them. I wonder if the server didn't like the request or was just being mean because our food was largely inedible. The service was slow - it took over 15 minutes to get a server to take our drink order, and I felt like they didn't want us to be there. Odd. We won't be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoori Nights also viewed

 

Been to Tandoori Nights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tandoori Nights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.