We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Bethesda Park

Clarion Hotel Bethesda Park
Clarion Hotel Bethesda Park
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bethesda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clarion Hotel Bethesda Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8400 Wisconsin Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 hotels in Bethesda
Erie,PA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2007

This hotel, being much cheaper than other hotels in the area, does have a few drawbacks. But overall is a fine place to stay if you want to save a few bucks.

The good:
Clean, comfortable bed, nice bathrooms.

The bad:
No indoor pool, no free breakfast, nearest Metro is about 6 blocks.

You decide:
The parking is 11 bucks a day - not
as much as some, but not free either. It is about 6 blocks to the Metro - not bad with good weather, but a long way when it is cold or rainy. They have a breakfast buffet that costs $10 and is pretty good.

  • Liked — Cost
  • Disliked — Parking fee/no free breakfast
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    9
    8
    8
See reviews for
1
2
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
charlottesville, va
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2006

The service was so-so, condition so-so, but the hotel was quiet, reasonably clean, and food was acceptable. Would be over-priced except for hotel prices are generally high in the area anyway.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2006

This was a free stay for us using points. The room was clean although a little outdated and in need of a makeover. The AC definitely made an annoying noise every hour or so as reported in other reviews. The staff was nice, and the beds were comfortable. Overall, this is an average hotel and is sufficient for basic accomidations.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2006

Upon arrival--no coffee pot in room, one brought when requested. Very large, AC units located outside window of 4th floor. These were VERY NOISY and ran continuously. That plus the LACK OF air conditioning made it virtually impossible to sleep. At one point, the hotel staff seemed to be indicating that the thermostats in the room DO NOT CONTROL THE TEMPERATURE. Ice maker broken, exercise room is empty with a sign indicating they are working on it; elevator has cardboard on the floor and a sticky substance on the floor. The refrigerator had a missing leg, leaked and had 2 broken shelves. The breakfast in the restaurant is horrible (a buffet). I specifically asked for eggs and they did accommodate me but I was told, they do not usually cook individual breakfasts. We asked for a cab to get us to the airport and when we arrived downstairs, they were about to send the cab away because they had written down the wrong room number. In summary, SPEND THE EXTRA $200 AND STAY IN A DECENT HOTEL, THIS IS NOT IT.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2006

We ended up here after checking out of our room at Quality Inn Governor in Falls Church (dismal). We were in a bind, and it was extremely difficult to find a hotel anywhere in the DC area for under $200. Paid about $109 night through a Virginia website. The hotel was just okay. On the upside, the beds were clean and comfortable, bathroom clean, a/c functioning. Variety store within a block, restaurants within 2-3 blocks. Downside was that the room was tiny, had to pay $11/night to park, the a/c vent made a random clunking noise every hour or so all night. Sink was clogged first day, but when front desk contacted, maintenance arrived within 10 minutes. Two bad things happened during our 4-night stay. We arrived at the room after a day of sightseeing and found that the maid had left the door unlatched. Fortunately, nothing had been touched. Secondly, we had reserved parking in the lot beside the hotel, and Saturday night there were no spaces left in the lot at 9:30 pm. Front desk was not too helpful when we contacted them through the parking lot intercom; my husband just parked in a Budget rental space and let the front desk know. It is a bit far-flung from DC sights, but Bethesda is lovely, as is Chevy Chase, a couple of miles away. Very close to NIH and 495.
Separate restaurant located in bottom floor was convenient, and did not charge me for hot water for tea. Negative: Room service cups and trays were left in the hallway for a day or more. Yuck!
I would stay here again if the price was right. It's not worth the $300/night as the front desk claimed is there usual rate! $80 would be okay, but not a cent more.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2006

I think the other reviews were right on. This hotel is very average. It is on the scale of a 2 to 2 1/2 star hotel. But the difference is the beds. They are very comfortable and on the line of the new beds at the Marriott Courtyard hotels. The hotel is at the edge of Bethesda. You are about a 5 to 10 minute walk from most of the restaurants. You are about a 5 to 7 minute walk to the NIH Metro stop. The parking lot is pretty convenient. If touring DC, I would try to get a hotel closer to the metro and the district. It is about a 20 minute metro ride to the Smithsonians and other main attractions. One thing to note is that internet access in the rooms is free at this hotel. However, make sure to bring your own ethernet cable. They do provide some at the front desk, but both times I stayed at this hotel, they ran out of them. There is no WIFI access in the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardsville, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2005

This hotel is indeed very average. I saw that the average rate is $180 and almost laughed out loud. It's definitely not worth that price. I got a semi-decent deal on priceline for $66 a night so I won't complain too much, but I didn't feel that the hotel was that convenient on foot to either of the nearby metro stations, the lobby bathroom was pretty poorly kept with a box of tissue serving as toilet paper in one of the stalls, and our room leaked incessantly when it rained. I did feel that the beds and pillows were very comfortable, but the rooms were pretty small. There was one computer in the lobby and the printer stayed with very little ink for nearly 3 days. The proximity to the Beltway and 95 was convenient, but I don't think I would ever consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Hotel Bethesda Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Bethesda Park

Address: 8400 Wisconsin Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 hotels in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Bethesda Park 3*
Also Known As:
Clarion Bethesda
Bethesda Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Bethesda Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel Bethesda Park to your Saves list