We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small gem in the midst of Big Everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bethesda Court Hotel to your Saves list
Bethesda Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7740 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814 (Formerly Golden Tulip Bethesda Court Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A small gem in the midst of Big Everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

We discovered Bethesda Court via a friend's recommendation. Among other things, it was reasonably priced (in a metro area not famous for that!) and had easy access via the Metro to downtown D.C.

We were greeted warmly at the front desk like old friends (had never been there before), and that never changed during the five days we stayed there.

This comparatively small hotel is steeped in customer service. Uniformly pleasant and helpful staff were pro-active in helping us have a great stay with them and in DC.

It's a cozy, clean, charming place to stay. Our room overlooked the courtyard, which is a little gem within a little gem. We were close to multiple restaurants. And staff even helped us choose the best pizza delivery restaurant. (They were right!)

It was an altogether pleasant stay at Bethesda Court and we would stay there again in a heartbeat.

I do not know staff who work there. I was not paid to write this glowing review. :) I will usually gritch if I'm not happy. Therefore, it seems only fair to praise when I am. And there you have it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    91
    31
    14
    11
See reviews for
59
54
30
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atco, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

MY husband stayed here before was very happy with it, so we came together for a get-away weekend, 2 nights. We were greeted by very friendly check in associates and it only took a few minutes and we we were in our room. It was very comfortable and nicely appointed. The hotel was quiet at night and even in the afternoon if you wanted a nap. It is close to excellent dining and shopping. We came for a juried art fair and we were only a few blocks away. The Hotel has 3 floors so we took the steps most of the time because that is what we like to do. A complementary breakfast included delicious coffee, choice of teas, 6 types of cold cereal, fresh fruit, juices milk, pastry (really good Pastry) bagels, muffins, breads, Hardboiled eggs etc. Very good and very fresh. WE LOVED IT AND RECOMMEND IT! They know what they are doing. Also, very important, there is a microwave and coffee maker in the room and an EMPTY FRIDGE. There is a Safeway Supermaker nearby so you can stock your fridge if you want to. It is not filled with rip off stuff like many other hotels. We recommend this hotel very much.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We just spent 3 nights at this hotel and we're already looking forward to the next time. It was a hop and a skip on the Metro into DC. The Metro is about 1 1/2 blocks from the hotel. The neighborhood was clean, safe with some nightlife and plenty of restaurants. Couldn't ask for more. The hotel staff was wonderful, helpful and so nice. The room was fabulous, courtyard was cozy and it was nice to be able to sit outside to enjoy their complimentary breakfast. We would come back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

The Bethesda Court hotel is operated by the Golden Tulip chain. The reason I mention this is because one can find reviews on this hotel under Bethesda Court and also Golden Tulip.

I was looking for a reasonably priced hotel near a subway station, center of Bethesda and in a safe neighborhood. This hotel met those needs.

The hotel is small, well kept, and tucked away on the busy Wisconsin blvd. Front desk was very swift and polite. Lobby was small but well appointed. The lobby also has a computer and printer that can be used without charge (e.g., printing airline tickets). There is a free continental breakfast in a very tiny room that was very difficult to maneuver through. However, just outside is a very nice, serene garden with tables and chairs. There is a very small gym on the second floor with enough equipment for anyone that wants a good workout (not many guests were using it while I was there). The neighborhood, off Wisconsin, is safe enough for a morning jog.

The room was average size, very clean, furnished well, cable LCD TV, free high speed wireless internet. Beds were extremely comfortable. I would describe the room as borderline luxury. Bathroom was small but very clean and nicely done.

The price was good for Bethesda. The hotel is located three short blocks from the Red Line Metro station. It is also very close to the center of Bethesda with lots of shops and restaurants.

I was here on business but if a visitor to DC wanted to stay outside the city, this spot would be a good location as it takes no time at all to get downtown on the Metro.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

All hotels in the Bethesda/DC area are overpriced. This was one of the cheapest we could find at $200/nt (parking extra). It was in a nice neighborhood, very close to the metro stop, though 20 min or so to Union Sq. They had a great front desk staff, breakfast, patio, shampoo (for a hotel), and free bottled water! The hotel itself is kind of old, water temperature in the shower was extremely inconsistent, and security at the back door by the parking lot was lacking as the door never closed all the way. The bed was great and TV was a modern flat screen, but the lighting was dim and the air conditioner didn't have a very good low setting.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amissville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

Best location for the price. My wife and I walked to all downtown restaurants and two movie theaters in less than ten minutes. Also the Metrorail redline is two blocks away. My wife took advantage of the free limo and driver to get a ride and return pickup to a yoga studio half a mile away. The general manager and front desk staff are very friendly and helpful, willing to hear and address any concern. Tip: meet General Manager Ed Reed, and Paula, Joyce, Brandon at the front desk when you check-in, and if you have any issue or need during your stay they will handle it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Md.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

My husband and I were temporarily relocated to this hotel because the apartment building we live in one block away lost power for 3 days. The staff was so welcoming and assisted us in registering swiftly and professionally in this rather inconvenient time.
They also offer a complimentary breakfast that had a wide variety of choices. It was fresh and delicious. The manager to the front desk staff to the housekeeping staff were so friendly and accomidating. One day after checking out I realized in a panic that I may have left my husbands phone charger in the hotel room. I sprinted back over to the hotel and much to my relief they had bagged it and labeled and dated the bag so I was able to retrieve it right away. What a relief!

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bethesda Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Court Hotel

Address: 7740 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814 (Formerly Golden Tulip Bethesda Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bethesda
#3 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bethesda Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bethesda Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Bethesda
Bethesda Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.