We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to write home about, but it gets the job done.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bethesda Court Hotel to your Saves list
Bethesda Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7740 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814 (Formerly Golden Tulip Bethesda Court Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 Night Weekend Special
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Nothing to write home about, but it gets the job done.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

All hotels in the Bethesda/DC area are overpriced. This was one of the cheapest we could find at $200/nt (parking extra). It was in a nice neighborhood, very close to the metro stop, though 20 min or so to Union Sq. They had a great front desk staff, breakfast, patio, shampoo (for a hotel), and free bottled water! The hotel itself is kind of old, water temperature in the shower was extremely inconsistent, and security at the back door by the parking lot was lacking as the door never closed all the way. The bed was great and TV was a modern flat screen, but the lighting was dim and the air conditioner didn't have a very good low setting.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    102
    32
    16
    11
See reviews for
66
56
33
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amissville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

Best location for the price. My wife and I walked to all downtown restaurants and two movie theaters in less than ten minutes. Also the Metrorail redline is two blocks away. My wife took advantage of the free limo and driver to get a ride and return pickup to a yoga studio half a mile away. The general manager and front desk staff are very friendly and helpful, willing to hear and address any concern. Tip: meet General Manager Ed Reed, and Paula, Joyce, Brandon at the front desk when you check-in, and if you have any issue or need during your stay they will handle it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Md.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

My husband and I were temporarily relocated to this hotel because the apartment building we live in one block away lost power for 3 days. The staff was so welcoming and assisted us in registering swiftly and professionally in this rather inconvenient time.
They also offer a complimentary breakfast that had a wide variety of choices. It was fresh and delicious. The manager to the front desk staff to the housekeeping staff were so friendly and accomidating. One day after checking out I realized in a panic that I may have left my husbands phone charger in the hotel room. I sprinted back over to the hotel and much to my relief they had bagged it and labeled and dated the bag so I was able to retrieve it right away. What a relief!

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

Don't let this "European" style hotel fool you. It's a cheap imitation. First, the showerhead didn't work. And then when the water finally flowed, it took about 5 minutes before any hot water appeared. And then when it did, it would come and go - hot, then cold, then back again. The lighting was awful, and the rug had dangerous folds in it. The pillows were razor thin. The breakfast is ok, with dry cereal, yoghurt and apples, but you might as well book a Hampton Inn, which has a much better selection, including hot options. Sadly, the chain hotels in Bethesda are a better choice.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

I spent six nights at this terrific hotel. I found the staff was helpful and courteous.
I had a problem with the heating unit and immediately they switch me to another room.
The Breakfast Room was never out of items which included all the basics coffee, buns, cereal, toast, pints of milk plus shelled hard boiled eggs.
You might want to skip the elevator , walking is faster.
The beds are very comfortable, I seep through the night.
The only difference from the real fancy hotels, I find is the price.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

I stayed at the Bethesda Court Inn during a business trip because it was the most affordable in town. The staff there is increadibly kind - they give out great chocolates, bottled water and the kitchen with breakfast food is always open. They were really helpful and the nicest staff of any hotel I've stayed in!

Definitely recommened, it's a great place for the price.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

My wife and I stayed at The Bethesda Court for a week while we were site seeing in D.C. and we were very happy with our choice.
The room was a little smaller then I expected but it was very clean and well maintained. The bathroom only has a shower no bathtub and the shower is very small, but the cleanliness made up for the size.
We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. One day we mentioned to the front desk clerk that we wanted to take a night bus tour of D.C. and he looked up the site for us and found that that night was sold out and made reservations for us for the next night.
We liked the location. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the Metro red line station, which we used every day to get around. The only time we drove was to go to Mount Vernon, which is about a 45 minute drive from the hotel.
The hotel serves a free continental breakfast in a little room off the lobby every morning, which was fine for my wife and I, but if your looking for something more, a pancake house is next door and a 24 hour diner is around the corner.
As far as restaurants for dinner, what ever you want is within walking distance. French,Italian, Mexican, Chinese, Indian, steak house,hamburgers, you name it it's close by.
We don't visit the area very often but next time we go back we would stay at Bethesda Court again

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bethesda Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Court Hotel

Address: 7740 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814 (Formerly Golden Tulip Bethesda Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bethesda Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in a charming neighborhood outside of Washington DC, the Bethesda Court Hotel provides elegant European hospitality in an intimate, gracious environment. Enjoy the first-class amenities and accommodations of this stunning hotel, combined with the warmth and comfort of a traditional bed and breakfast. Few other Washington DC area hotels offer such an inviting experience. Consider our English boutique-style property as your private retreat - providing a quiet, comfortable haven just 8 miles from downtown Washington DC. Our premier Bethesda, MD hotel is ideally located just two miles from the Walter Reed National Military Medical Center and National Institutes of Health.Or set out and explore the exclusive shops and restaurants within blocks of our front door. Conveniently two short blocks away from the Red Line's Bethesda Metro Station, nine miles away from Union Station train station, & 11 miles away from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport. Truly a gem among DC area hotels, the Bethesda Court offers the timeless elegance of another era in an exquisite setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and BookIt.com so you can book your Bethesda Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Bethesda
Bethesda Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.