We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bethesda Court Hotel to your Saves list
Bethesda Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7740 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814 (Formerly Golden Tulip Bethesda Court Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Special
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
A TripAdvisor Member
“Over priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2005

May 17, 2005 - booked single room at $155 and got a $49 motor court type room in exchange. The room was very small (described on web site as "European style") with poor lighting, paint peeling off walls and ceiling (roof water damage no doubt), unstable water temperature -repeating scalding hot to freezing cold temperature cycles, and unusable wireless Internet access. (Hotel even supplied a test receiver that was no better than my wireless card.) There was a slight wireless signal throughout the hotel area, but not enough signal to maintain connection. The courtyard and lobby look fine, but I'd ask to see your room before staying here. Black's Restaurant behind hotel is a good spot for lunch or dinner. Hotel is about 2 blocks from Metro station for easy DC area travel.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    90
    30
    14
    11
See reviews for
55
54
30
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2005

I have seen some reviews in which a guest, having a combination of bad luck and unfortunate happenstance, has a bad experience and then vents through a bad review of the hotel. Sometimes a great staff and a reasonable price makes up for a below average property and sometimes a nice hotel makes up for a snippity staff. The most important thing is that a hotel does not misrepresent themselves and surprise you with lessser accomadations. I thought cometition had rendered this sort of practice obsolete, but someone forget to tell The Bethesda Court Hotel. The brochure and promotional signs outside the hotel are completely misleading and even untruthful. This in NOT a luxery hotel. It is a motor court with a bad facelift that basically includes a little marble here and there and ridiculous claims such as "european bed linens" and "top pillows".
It is a complete and utterly transparent front. Plus, as is also a dated practice, they seem to employ the bait and switch practice when quoting and processing your bills. For $79.99 it is worth it. But if you are a business traveller, do not be fooled into staying here for a cent more. Look other chain hotels in the area where you know they have company wide standards.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
21204
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2004

This is a very very nice hotel. Of all of the hotel along Wisconsin Ave, this is by far and away the nicest. The room was exceptionally clean and the appointments very much above par. The continental breakfast was terrific. Absolutely recommend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2004

My husband had business in Bethesda and we stayed in the hotel for two nights. We requested a non-smoking room but it had a faint odor of smoke. I called the front desk and they were very nice. Not only did they move our room, they upgraded us to one of the European suites. It was a lovely hotel, incredibly convenient to the Metro station, and provided a good continental breakfast. A great stay!

  • Stayed August 2004, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2004

We stayed at the Bethesda Court Hotel in one of its deluxe rooms last week and thought it was a good deal for the money (I had gotten rates at numerous other places). The room was large and the bed was very comfortable. The air conditioning was old fashioned and a little noisy but we regarded it as "white noise," and it didn't bother us. The bathroom could have been larger but the shower was good (even spray, plenty of pressure, and consistent water temperature).
We had a room facing the inner courtyard and think that is preferable because it was quiet, and none of the rooms could have a good view. The hotel is only three stories tall and is in the middle of a commercial area.
The continental breakfast was fine and the cookies in the evening were an unusual treat.
The hotel is only four blocks from the subway and is surrounded by good restaurants.
The major concern was that when we got there, we were told the room rate would be higher than I had been quoted on the phone and that there would be a parking fee. However, the hotel agreed to honor what I had been told, even though I had no written proof and the reservation clerk to whom I had spoken no longer worked there.
All in all, we liked the hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2004

Room was nice, but amenites were by no means above adequate. Continental breakfast consisted of cereal, stale pastries, oj and coffee in a VERY small room -- too small for a 75-room hotel. Often ran out of food. Surly staff. Do not necessarily get room asked for. In addition, heard staff ask to have room aired out so it could be given to a "Non-smoking" guest request.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2004

Bethesda Court has a convenient location -- 2 blocks from Metro, safe area with many restaurants in walking distance. Hotel is very clean and nicely appointed. Continental breakfast was included though seating is limited. Pleasant courtyard (you can bring your breakfast out) though again not enough places to sit! We got an excellent deal here from a package advertised on their website though our bill was not correct on checkout. Luckily, I had copies of our reservation and the package details and our deal was honored with no hassle. Should have been right the first time, though!!! Staff was pleasant and courteous. Their cable TV is very limited -- only about 10 channels -- which was a minor inconvenience. We would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bethesda Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Court Hotel

Address: 7740 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814 (Formerly Golden Tulip Bethesda Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bethesda
#3 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bethesda Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bethesda Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Bethesda
Bethesda Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.