We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bethesda Court Hotel to your Saves list
Bethesda Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7740 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814 (Formerly Golden Tulip Bethesda Court Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 Night Weekend Special
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
Hilliard, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

My husband, kids and I have stayed at the Bethesda Court Hotel three times since December 2013. From the housekeeping to the customer service to the shuttle drivers to the managers, the entire operation is top notch. I wouldn't stay anywhere else if given a choice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    107
    33
    17
    11
See reviews for
68
57
34
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Opelika, Alabama
Level Contributor
77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

If I could afford it. I can't. But I would. If you're doing biz at the NIH, this is the only way to roll. The shuttle will shoot you over there in a jif, and there'll be less hassle at the security gate than with a private vehicle. Still some hassle though. Expect delays.

As others have pointed out, it's an easy few blocks to the Metro. There are ample adequate restaurants in similarly easy walking distances, and a few really nice wine shops, too. It's possible to abandon your car for the entire stay and never feel a bit deprived.

Those traveling with kids might also appreciate that there is a coin-op laundry on site. Breakfast was varied and abundant, and the eatin' courtyard relaxing and peaceful. There is a Safeway right nearby for sundries you may have forgotten to pack. Staff is super helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: Upper floors seem quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I had a room at the end of the hall and the 3 days I stayed it was freezing cold. I asked extra blankets for the night as the heater was making a lot of noise. I don´t think that the heating system in that room was working properly and I am surprised no-one fro the cleaning service noticed. My colleagues room seemed not be as cold.

Room Tip: No corner room during winter or be prepared to sleep in your sking suit ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We were in town for some family medical issues at the Walter Reed National Military Medical Center. Our only complaint about the room was that the bathroom didn't have much space for two people's toilettries. The staff was friendly and accomodating and the parking was worth the price with extremely easy in and out. The location is within a mile of NIH and WRNMMC and there are good restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I was in town for a conference and Bethesda Court Hotel was by far the best value in the area since it had free breakfast, free wifi, and was only a few minutes away from the Metro. The staff was friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

they hang a sign on the bathroom door asking we reuse the towels to conserve water.......... and if you don't... and you ask for maid service.. they will replace your towels on the hanger. It was unbelievably filthy and I got very ill. They swindled my pocket book and their "continental breakfast" is hard boiled eggs and cereal... they said this is a 3 star hotel... but its below that. The only thing going for them is the shuttle service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Every year in September, I, along with 3 friends, attend the National Book Festival in Washington, DC. Though we usually stay in DC, this year we decided to stay in Bethesda. We were glad we did. Even though the subway ride into DC was a little long, the tradeoff was worth it. The hotel was close to a subway stop, lots of restaurants, stores, entertainment, etc. We were all very pleased with our accommodations. The Front Desk staff was great. Even though we arrived very early, our room was ready and they allowed us access. We were able to freshen up and unpack before heading back into DC. We stayed 3 nights and each day the staff gave us bottled water to take with us. They were always friendly and very helpful with information, directions and suggestions. The more-than-continental breakfast was excellent. There was a variety of food choices (cereal, yogurt, bagels, fresh fruit, pastries and more) which satisfied everyone in the group. The staff was quick to restock whenever an item was low. 2 additional people joined us for 2 nights and they were also pleased, especially about the free parking that was included in their package deal. We had taken the train, so parking wasn't an issue. In the past we've paid up to $35+ per night for parking in DC. Our room was fine - comfortable beds, nice linens, good size bathroom, plenty of room to move around, etc. Though the hotel is a little dated, it appears they have been making an effort to spruce it up. We all agree that we will be staying at Bethesda Court Hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bethesda Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Court Hotel

Address: 7740 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814 (Formerly Golden Tulip Bethesda Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bethesda Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in a charming neighborhood outside of Washington DC, the Bethesda Court Hotel provides elegant European hospitality in an intimate, gracious environment. Enjoy the first-class amenities and accommodations of this stunning hotel, combined with the warmth and comfort of a traditional bed and breakfast. Few other Washington DC area hotels offer such an inviting experience. Consider our English boutique-style property as your private retreat - providing a quiet, comfortable haven just 8 miles from downtown Washington DC. Our premier Bethesda, MD hotel is ideally located just two miles from the Walter Reed National Military Medical Center and National Institutes of Health.Or set out and explore the exclusive shops and restaurants within blocks of our front door. Conveniently two short blocks away from the Red Line's Bethesda Metro Station, nine miles away from Union Station train station, & 11 miles away from Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport. Truly a gem among DC area hotels, the Bethesda Court offers the timeless elegance of another era in an exquisite setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bethesda Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Bethesda
Bethesda Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.