We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Would Live Here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bethesda Court Hotel to your Saves list
Bethesda Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7740 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814 (Formerly Golden Tulip Bethesda Court Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Special
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Opelika, Alabama
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“I Would Live Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

If I could afford it. I can't. But I would. If you're doing biz at the NIH, this is the only way to roll. The shuttle will shoot you over there in a jif, and there'll be less hassle at the security gate than with a private vehicle. Still some hassle though. Expect delays.

As others have pointed out, it's an easy few blocks to the Metro. There are ample adequate restaurants in similarly easy walking distances, and a few really nice wine shops, too. It's possible to abandon your car for the entire stay and never feel a bit deprived.

Those traveling with kids might also appreciate that there is a coin-op laundry on site. Breakfast was varied and abundant, and the eatin' courtyard relaxing and peaceful. There is a Safeway right nearby for sundries you may have forgotten to pack. Staff is super helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: Upper floors seem quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    90
    30
    14
    11
See reviews for
56
54
30
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I had a room at the end of the hall and the 3 days I stayed it was freezing cold. I asked extra blankets for the night as the heater was making a lot of noise. I don´t think that the heating system in that room was working properly and I am surprised no-one fro the cleaning service noticed. My colleagues room seemed not be as cold.

Room Tip: No corner room during winter or be prepared to sleep in your sking suit ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We were in town for some family medical issues at the Walter Reed National Military Medical Center. Our only complaint about the room was that the bathroom didn't have much space for two people's toilettries. The staff was friendly and accomodating and the parking was worth the price with extremely easy in and out. The location is within a mile of NIH and WRNMMC and there are good restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I was in town for a conference and Bethesda Court Hotel was by far the best value in the area since it had free breakfast, free wifi, and was only a few minutes away from the Metro. The staff was friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

they hang a sign on the bathroom door asking we reuse the towels to conserve water.......... and if you don't... and you ask for maid service.. they will replace your towels on the hanger. It was unbelievably filthy and I got very ill. They swindled my pocket book and their "continental breakfast" is hard boiled eggs and cereal... they said this is a 3 star hotel... but its below that. The only thing going for them is the shuttle service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Every year in September, I, along with 3 friends, attend the National Book Festival in Washington, DC. Though we usually stay in DC, this year we decided to stay in Bethesda. We were glad we did. Even though the subway ride into DC was a little long, the tradeoff was worth it. The hotel was close to a subway stop, lots of restaurants, stores, entertainment, etc. We were all very pleased with our accommodations. The Front Desk staff was great. Even though we arrived very early, our room was ready and they allowed us access. We were able to freshen up and unpack before heading back into DC. We stayed 3 nights and each day the staff gave us bottled water to take with us. They were always friendly and very helpful with information, directions and suggestions. The more-than-continental breakfast was excellent. There was a variety of food choices (cereal, yogurt, bagels, fresh fruit, pastries and more) which satisfied everyone in the group. The staff was quick to restock whenever an item was low. 2 additional people joined us for 2 nights and they were also pleased, especially about the free parking that was included in their package deal. We had taken the train, so parking wasn't an issue. In the past we've paid up to $35+ per night for parking in DC. Our room was fine - comfortable beds, nice linens, good size bathroom, plenty of room to move around, etc. Though the hotel is a little dated, it appears they have been making an effort to spruce it up. We all agree that we will be staying at Bethesda Court Hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The first room we were given had an odd smell. I was willing to ignore that, but when I got into bed, one of the pillows smelled like someone's dirty head. I thought I'd swap it out in the morning, but was disturbed about it. Upon closer inspection I noticed that the bed had not been cleaned behind the mattress and there was miscellaneous nastiness collecting there. The final straw was when the heating unit started rattling loudly, and cycling on & off. It was so hot in there, we just couldn't sleep, so asked for another room. The second room was clean but the heating unit looked like it had been kicked about some and there was pretty much no climate control. It was either hot or off. One other odd thing we noticed--two nights in a row it reeked of incense. Someone was definitely burning it in the hotel.
There are a few pluses: The lobby is comfortable. There is a driver who will take you within 2 miles of the hotel if you need a ride somewhere. There's a good pancake restaurant next door.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bethesda Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Court Hotel

Address: 7740 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814 (Formerly Golden Tulip Bethesda Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bethesda
#3 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bethesda Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bethesda Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Bethesda
Bethesda Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.