We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jury is still out on this one” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bethesda Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotels.com
and 11 more sites!
Bethesda Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7740 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814 (Formerly Golden Tulip Bethesda Court Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Bethesda
Wisconsin
1 review
“Jury is still out on this one”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

I decided to stay at this hotel because they offered a discounted rate for attendees of a seminar I was going to. I booked it sight unseen. I arrived and they had my reservation for the wrong night, but they accomodated me anyway. If you have a lot of luggage or more than one person in your party, you may need to take a few trips up the very small elevator. There is no room service, but they did have chips and candy bars for sale at the front desk. There is a soda vending machine on the 2nd floor.
The highlight of my trip, however, was the shower that did not work. After calling the front desk, they never came to repair it, but did reduce my bill by $10.00.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    77
    22
    12
    10
See reviews for
45
46
26
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

I booked hotel through website. Room was very comfortable with a small refrigerator a plus. No street noise especially in a 2 story building right off the main street. My wife found the bed and pillows very confortable and that is a big compliment indeed. Complimentary breakfast and computer in the lobby made checking e-mail a breeze. Travel to Washington capital area was so simple and convenient and returning in the evening the area restaurants are plentiful for all tastes and budgets. Enjoyed 3 night weekend stay.

  • Liked — Convenience and cleanlines
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

Just got back from a 3-day Memorial Day weekend stay. Very reasonable (for inside-the-beltway) rates, with high quality off street parking included. "Executive breakfast" (also included) - yogurt, pastries, cereal, toast, bagels, fruit, instant oatmeal, coffee, juice, tea. Beautiful 3,000+ square foot interior garden to have breakfast in. Small, but above average room (had refrigerator); nice decor. ONLY 2 blocks from Bethesda Metro station.

  • Liked — closeness to Metro
  • Disliked — small elevator
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

I spent sometime at this hotel on business. it is comfortable and nothing fancy. It is importantly clean and very safe. The area around the hotel is filled with tons of restaurants and shops..It would take you weeks to eat all the rest here.

Continental breakfast is kind of poor but there is a good diner on the corner as well as a *bucks.

Overall; I am happy as a busines stay but maybe not for holiday.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

A good value for Bethesda. Nice clean room and accommodating staff
made this a very good choice for Bethesda. The Metro (DC subway)is a three block walk from the hotel and there are many, many great restaurants near by. Know there is a $12 daily parking fee at the hotel, which I was not made aware of when the reservation was made. I did alert management regarding the parking fee and they kindly removed the fee from my bill. I "ll come back to this facility with family to sight see later this year.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — to many extra fees not mentioned during reservation i.e. parking and local taxes
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

Located about 2 blocks north of the Bethesda metro station, this hotel was about 1/2 or 1/3 the price of other hotels I checked in the Friendship Heights and Bethesda area. We paid $139/night for a room with 2 beds, small refrigerator and coffee. The room was small, but well appointed and the beds were comfortable. Everything was very clean and the bathrooms were neat and nice.

Free breakfast in the mornings and coffee and cookies at night.

Front desk staff varied from reasonably nice to somewhat helpful to downright rude.

Lots of restaurants withing walking distance and even some that deliver food.

Well worth the extra metro stops for the savings!!

  • Liked — Comfortable rooms and good price
  • Disliked — front desk staff
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

Chose this hotel because of proximity to metro station. After disappointing front desk help and scary elevator (last certified in 3/05), my non-smoking room smelled like an ashtray and no way to open window. They had me come downstairs for new room key--new room smelled like glue or new carpet, but was very comfortable with new furniture and view of neighborhood which I liked during AM coffee. Fine for one or two people. Clean room and bath. Breakfast OK but small eating area. My TV went on the fritz at end of my stay and front staff unapologetic about that when checking out. The comfortable bed and location, easy to get to AU, would be why I would return. For old fashioned cheap eats and Red Sox banter, walk over to the Tastee Diner for a blast to the past.

  • Liked — New decorating, location
  • Disliked — Horrible first impression at front desk and elevator
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bethesda Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Court Hotel

Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Bethesda
Bethesda Golden Tulip
Address: 7740 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814 (Formerly Golden Tulip Bethesda Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bethesda
#2 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bethesda Court Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Bethesda Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.