We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Throw back charm to the days of the motor lodge” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bethesda Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bethesda Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7740 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814 (Formerly Golden Tulip Bethesda Court Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Special
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Bethesda
Tennessee
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Throw back charm to the days of the motor lodge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here because the girlfriend’s parents had a groupon and we decided to stay at the same place. First off, the location is pretty good. Not right in the heart of downtown but only a few blocks from great shopping and dining options. The nearest metro station is only 3-4 blocks away. The rooms were reasonable. This is not a newer, business friendly location. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom small (but functional), flat screen tv, free wi-fi (unusual anymore), and a decent continental breakfast. The front desk was helpful with directions and suggestions. There is onsite parking for an extra charge. I thought the price was quite reasonable for the location and the amenities. The building harkens back to the older-style motor court..pretty nostalgic for those of us who might have stayed in one years ago. If I find myself in that neck of the woods again I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    83
    28
    13
    11
See reviews for
49
51
28
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The staff were extremely hospitable and it was more like a family atmosphere than the professional fake that I have received at some hotels. The room was clean and smelled new. The bed and pillows were the most comfortable that I have experienced in a hotel. The breakfast had more choices than I expected. The courtyard and boutique feel of the hotel made it the best kept secret in Bethesda. If I return to the area I will only consider this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the courtyard entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetrista, Minnesota, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the last few years. Always, I find it comfortable, clean, quiet. The breakfast is good and offers a number of options. But i would have to say that the best part of this lodging is the kindness and hospitality offered by Brandon Butler and his staff. Pretty much, "ask and you will receive" from the complimentary limo to local addresses as I was recovering from an illness to the complimentary bottled water to assistance with any manner of questions. A group of us return twice a year and I have always heard positive comments from all.

Barbara Hosmer Minnetrista Mn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The City of Champions
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed 4 days; room 107 across from the courtyard. The courtyard was beautiful, well maintained and several of the guests enjoyed their breakfast there. It was easy to park at the hotel. Most of the time, however, we walked to the subway which was very convenient. Nice area with lots of restaurants. The staff here could not have been more helpful. They are willing to help answer any questions and provided whatever we needed. I cannot say enough about their service. Top notch and very friendly. The room was fine for our needs. K cups for coffee a nice touch. Bed comfortable, bathroom clean, tv great. We used the air conditioning and although it was old, it worked fine. The price was right and all, in all, we had an enjoyable stay. We would return again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vauxhall, nj
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Our stay was ok. The rooms were small, but clean and had a clean smell. The mattress are too soft for me - I had a back ache in the mornings. The hallways had a musty smell - the carpet needs to be shampooed. The breakfast room is too small - cant manuver if all the tables were filled. B'fast hours should be extended, its only 3 hours during the week and 4 on wknds. Parking is just horrible, there is no where to park when checking in. The staff is great, especially Sam (thank you for our chocolates, we love you!). The courtesy limo service (our driver was David) is only up to 3 miles, very appreciative, but it should be extended to at least 5, but a great service (thank you David, it was a pleasure riding with you!). The courtyard is cozy. The elevator is very small - take the stairs, if you can. Overall, we probably will not be returning.

Room Tip: Use the pamphlet that has the restaurants in the area and room further from the elevator are the qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Maybe I caught this hotel on a bad week or maybe this hotel was wrong for me. That's being nice as I can be because I am comparing this hotel to another I became very fond of and it's not right to compare the two. But this what we do as humans, remember the past to judge the future. the motel was cold, and I caught one there, haven't had a cold in years until then, no extra blankets in the room as this trip was back in Feb., no real view, had to pay to park, elevators was cramped, breakfast room is a closet with no real breakfast foods. The only saving grace to this place and to its credit was the desk personnel. I have stayed at other hotels in the area so maybe a little over critical of the Court Hotel, by comparison, then again Hell No. It was just that bad. And the heating and air units were old and outdated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised with our recent stay at the Bethesda Court Hotel. Although the hotel itself is a little bit worn, the pleasant, helpful staff more than made up for whatever was lacking. The hotel was very clean, incluiding the linens and bedspreads. We appreciated the free transportation to our local medical appointment and easy access to computers in the lobby. The hotel is very close to a metro stop for those desiring to travel into D.C. However, we would have liked to see a greater selection of breakfast food offered at the free continental breakfast. All in all, we would definitely return to this hotel for business or pleasure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bethesda Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Court Hotel

Address: 7740 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814 (Formerly Golden Tulip Bethesda Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bethesda Court Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Fastbooking, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bethesda Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Bethesda
Bethesda Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.