We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, not cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bethesda Court Hotel to your Saves list
Bethesda Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7740 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814 (Formerly Golden Tulip Bethesda Court Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Special
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great hotel, not cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Great location, nice staff, free internet and printing services on the lobby. I stayed there for 6 nights so I got a reduced rate but even this was not cheap, however, you get your money's worth.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    89
    29
    14
    11
See reviews for
54
53
30
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, NJ
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Wish we could give 5 stars just so the staff would know how much we appreciated their genuine and attentive care.
The owners should reassess their technology and most of all replace the HVAC, specifically because it is a health issue.
We were on 3rd (top) floor, in high 80-low 90 degree weather (not dead heat of summer YET) and our air conditioner was so antiquated we could not adjust the temp. at all, nor was it able to cool off our room. LOUD is an understatement. When leaving, another guest squeezed into their closet sized elevator (3 of us) and commented how she did not sleep due to the loud & poor cooling system. The heat and noise was unbearable for her. Alas, the cleanliness of the room, coffee (pod) maker, fridge and perfect location near NIH cannot change the fact the Heat & Cooling system is terrible. An analog TV with poor picture quality is fine for a night, we laughed at the yellow tinged programs, but if we had to stay for any length of time, we would chose elsewhere. Does HD cost that much more in the DC area?
Sorry to the staff, you were all perfect, warm, friendly, helpful and we felt you deserved another bravo so people would know, if staying in this motel, the staff is the best part of your stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We spent three nights at the Bethesda Court Hotel during our trip to DC. I must admit to some real trepidation after reading some of the reviews here on Trip Advisor. Happily, my fears were pretty much unfounded. Our room (331) faced the courtyard side of the hotel. We loved the view. Although our room was several spaces past the courtyard so that we could not look down into that lovely space, we still enjoyed our view. Not sure what the view is like on the other side of the hotel, though.

We were greeted warmly upon our arrival and have no complaints at all with the staff save for the fact that, on the third morning, they were remiss in getting things cleaned up and re-stocked in the breakfast area.

Speaking of the breakfast area, as other reviewers have noted, it is a very, very small space. You might consider taking your breakfast out to the tables in the beautiful courtyard area or even up to your room unless you want to rub elbows (quite literally) with your neighbours. The breakfast offerings are nothing special but were quite adequate. No hot foods, but there are pastries, juices, coffee, cereal, bagels, etc. A perfectly acceptable spread, in my opinion.

Our room was very comfortable and clean, though the carpet has seen better days and is definitely ready to be changed. The bathroom, as noted by others, is very small and does not offer much space to set one's toiletries, though this was not really a problem for us.

Nice flat screen TV, Movies On Demand and free wi-fi.

Great location with a plethora of culinary choices within easy walking and/or driving distance. If you are looking for something quick and don't care about fancy, try the Tastee Diner which is about a one minute walk from the hotel. The food was very good, the prices were excellent, and Frank, who seemed to be one of the owners, was amusing and extraordinarily friendly and attentive. The Tastee Diner has many repeat customers as evidenced by the fact that staff and patrons knew each other by name.

A caveat or two: If staying at the Bethesda Court Hotel, I would not recommend a first floor room facing the courtyard. Could be noisy, plus, you can't really leave the curtains open to enjoy the view unless you like feeling your are in a fish tank as other guests walk past your window or make use of the courtyard.

Parking costs about $15.00 a day, so, be prepared for that extra cost unless you want to park in the garage across the street...which comes with its own fees unless you park after 10:00 p.m. and move your vehicle before 6:00 a.m. We were told parking there is free between those hours.

This is an older hotel, so don't expect it to be an Embassy Suites! If you like something a little different, though, this could be the place for you.

All in all, we really enjoyed the Bethesda Court Hotel. We would definitely stay there again if in the DC area!

Room Tip: We loved Room 331! Would highly suggest requesting a room facing the courtyard but NOT on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XENIA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

This hotel is in the best location for all of the restaurants in Bethesda, and for a 2 block walk to the metro. The front desk was polite, and answered our questions about the area. The room seemed clean, and a little bit worn. The carpet looked dirty and there was some peeling wallpaper, and also some drywall nails or screws coming out of the wall. Like others said the breakfast room is way too small. Every morning it was very crowded, so we took our breakfast to our room. We went out a couple of times for breakfast, because I wanted my kids to have some protein (turkey sausage or bacon, scrambled eggs). They mainly had carbs, there was hardboiled eggs, which were ok. Overall the #1 thing this hotel has going for is Location, and free wi-fi. After that it is just ok. We would probably stay again, if we came back to the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The room was very satisfactory and clean with everything anyone would need for a short stay. The coffee maker in the room was a Keurig which we use at home and this was a first for us at a hotel. We were greeted warmly at check in with bottles of water and chocolate. Housekeeping met us as we were entering our room and suggested we might need more towels and supplies. How refreshing not to have to ask for this. The continental breakfast consisted of Starbucks coffee, variety of juices, cereal, muffins, pastries, bagels, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, and a variety of fresh fruit. It was presented well and constantly restocked. We would recommend this hotel and will use it again.

Room Tip: Plan to spend $14 a day for safe and convenient parking. The hotel used to be called the Golden Tul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

This three-story hotel is a classic and a gem. First of all, a bottle of water and a piece of dark chocolate welcomes you with the staffs’ friendly smiles. The room has adequate space, is tastefully decorated, and its bathroom has marble floors. The room I stayed in last year had only a shower stall, but it was not a pre-fabricated one. It had tiles around, and I felt like staying at an old European hotel. The amenities such as organic soaps, shampoo, conditioner, and body lotion are provided. The hotel has a courtyard, which is open to all the guests. Last year we asked for chocolate in the evening while we had a meeting. The staff presented us more than we consumed without any hesitation. They were so kind and understandable. The hotel is located a block away from the Metro Bethesda Station, and you can get to the main attractions of D.C. within15 minutes. The numerous restaurants are just behind the hotel and you have many choices to choose from. I need to stay for just one night every year in D.C. I like this hotel very much.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This hotel is ideally located for the Metro, local restaurants and a short drive to Georgetown. Sam was at the desk and very helpful to us when we asked questions about the area. He was rightly proud of Bethesda. I wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bethesda Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Court Hotel

Address: 7740 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814 (Formerly Golden Tulip Bethesda Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bethesda
#3 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bethesda Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bethesda Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Bethesda
Bethesda Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.