We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bethesda Court Hotel to your Saves list
Bethesda Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7740 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814 (Formerly Golden Tulip Bethesda Court Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Special
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We spent three nights at the Bethesda Court Hotel during our trip to DC. I must admit to some real trepidation after reading some of the reviews here on Trip Advisor. Happily, my fears were pretty much unfounded. Our room (331) faced the courtyard side of the hotel. We loved the view. Although our room was several spaces past the courtyard so that we could not look down into that lovely space, we still enjoyed our view. Not sure what the view is like on the other side of the hotel, though.

We were greeted warmly upon our arrival and have no complaints at all with the staff save for the fact that, on the third morning, they were remiss in getting things cleaned up and re-stocked in the breakfast area.

Speaking of the breakfast area, as other reviewers have noted, it is a very, very small space. You might consider taking your breakfast out to the tables in the beautiful courtyard area or even up to your room unless you want to rub elbows (quite literally) with your neighbours. The breakfast offerings are nothing special but were quite adequate. No hot foods, but there are pastries, juices, coffee, cereal, bagels, etc. A perfectly acceptable spread, in my opinion.

Our room was very comfortable and clean, though the carpet has seen better days and is definitely ready to be changed. The bathroom, as noted by others, is very small and does not offer much space to set one's toiletries, though this was not really a problem for us.

Nice flat screen TV, Movies On Demand and free wi-fi.

Great location with a plethora of culinary choices within easy walking and/or driving distance. If you are looking for something quick and don't care about fancy, try the Tastee Diner which is about a one minute walk from the hotel. The food was very good, the prices were excellent, and Frank, who seemed to be one of the owners, was amusing and extraordinarily friendly and attentive. The Tastee Diner has many repeat customers as evidenced by the fact that staff and patrons knew each other by name.

A caveat or two: If staying at the Bethesda Court Hotel, I would not recommend a first floor room facing the courtyard. Could be noisy, plus, you can't really leave the curtains open to enjoy the view unless you like feeling your are in a fish tank as other guests walk past your window or make use of the courtyard.

Parking costs about $15.00 a day, so, be prepared for that extra cost unless you want to park in the garage across the street...which comes with its own fees unless you park after 10:00 p.m. and move your vehicle before 6:00 a.m. We were told parking there is free between those hours.

This is an older hotel, so don't expect it to be an Embassy Suites! If you like something a little different, though, this could be the place for you.

All in all, we really enjoyed the Bethesda Court Hotel. We would definitely stay there again if in the DC area!

Room Tip: We loved Room 331! Would highly suggest requesting a room facing the courtyard but NOT on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    89
    29
    14
    11
See reviews for
54
53
30
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
XENIA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

This hotel is in the best location for all of the restaurants in Bethesda, and for a 2 block walk to the metro. The front desk was polite, and answered our questions about the area. The room seemed clean, and a little bit worn. The carpet looked dirty and there was some peeling wallpaper, and also some drywall nails or screws coming out of the wall. Like others said the breakfast room is way too small. Every morning it was very crowded, so we took our breakfast to our room. We went out a couple of times for breakfast, because I wanted my kids to have some protein (turkey sausage or bacon, scrambled eggs). They mainly had carbs, there was hardboiled eggs, which were ok. Overall the #1 thing this hotel has going for is Location, and free wi-fi. After that it is just ok. We would probably stay again, if we came back to the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The room was very satisfactory and clean with everything anyone would need for a short stay. The coffee maker in the room was a Keurig which we use at home and this was a first for us at a hotel. We were greeted warmly at check in with bottles of water and chocolate. Housekeeping met us as we were entering our room and suggested we might need more towels and supplies. How refreshing not to have to ask for this. The continental breakfast consisted of Starbucks coffee, variety of juices, cereal, muffins, pastries, bagels, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, and a variety of fresh fruit. It was presented well and constantly restocked. We would recommend this hotel and will use it again.

Room Tip: Plan to spend $14 a day for safe and convenient parking. The hotel used to be called the Golden Tul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

This three-story hotel is a classic and a gem. First of all, a bottle of water and a piece of dark chocolate welcomes you with the staffs’ friendly smiles. The room has adequate space, is tastefully decorated, and its bathroom has marble floors. The room I stayed in last year had only a shower stall, but it was not a pre-fabricated one. It had tiles around, and I felt like staying at an old European hotel. The amenities such as organic soaps, shampoo, conditioner, and body lotion are provided. The hotel has a courtyard, which is open to all the guests. Last year we asked for chocolate in the evening while we had a meeting. The staff presented us more than we consumed without any hesitation. They were so kind and understandable. The hotel is located a block away from the Metro Bethesda Station, and you can get to the main attractions of D.C. within15 minutes. The numerous restaurants are just behind the hotel and you have many choices to choose from. I need to stay for just one night every year in D.C. I like this hotel very much.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This hotel is ideally located for the Metro, local restaurants and a short drive to Georgetown. Sam was at the desk and very helpful to us when we asked questions about the area. He was rightly proud of Bethesda. I wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights while attending workshop at NIH. Close to Bethesda Metro so easy access to NIH. Clean rooms, comfy beds, friendly staff. Nicer inside than out. Breakfast was adequate but not great.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Recently stayed here for a one-night work trip as opposed to the hotel we normally stay at (partially based on reviews found here). It was okay, though I wouldn't want to stay here for much longer than a night.

My room on the second floor was fine. It was clean and spacious enough, though I did find the shower curtain "door" to the closet a little odd... The lighting was really dim and there was a shortage of outlets. The bathroom was okay but the shower was the second tiniest I've ever been in in my life (second to an old B & B in England)--and I am not a large person! It was generally quiet save for the traffic outside.

Free breakfast was included which was nice, although the breakfast room was slightly cramped.

I'll give them props for the free wi-fi--always nice.

The location is great if you need to be right in Bethesda as I did. Very convenient and an easy cab ride to/from DCA.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bethesda Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Court Hotel

Address: 7740 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814 (Formerly Golden Tulip Bethesda Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bethesda
#3 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#5 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bethesda Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bethesda Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Bethesda
Bethesda Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.