We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indeed "Bethesda's best kept secret"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bethesda Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bethesda Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7740 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814 (Formerly Golden Tulip Bethesda Court Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Special
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Bethesda
Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Indeed "Bethesda's best kept secret"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

That's their tagline and it is accurate. Locals think of this hotel from its former seedy reputation but it has come a long way from that history. I arrived thinking I had a reservation, only to realize that I had never received any confirmation for the phoned-in reservation I made months ago. The front desk employee couldn't have been more accommodating. She was gracious and quickly found me a room at the package rate that I had expected. As others have noted, the location is incredibly convenient, just a block away from a Metro stop. Half a block away is a 7-Eleven and a CVS. Around the corner are Bethesda's many outstanding restaurants. My package included free parking (a rarity), two bottles of water, and two pay-per-view movies. The free breakfast included the kind of food I usually eat, but this is not for the "eggs, bacon, and pancake" crowd. Like others, I appreciated the refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffeemaker. I also found the heating/cooling unit to be very loud, but effective. Finally, the bed was super comfortable and the room was surprisingly quiet. I was alone on this trip and always felt safe. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    85
    28
    13
    11
See reviews for
49
52
28
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Great Hotel, the staff is very accomodating. The location is close to restaurants, etc.., but the heating/AC unit is very noisy...the only negative.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011 via mobile

If you travel at all you know that all hotels are basically the same. The rooms at Bethesda Court Hotel are standard and comfortable. Just like everywhere. What sets this place apart is the little things. Theres a big fridge (not a minibar) and microwave and free Wifi in every room. The staff are friendly, competent and, unlike at the mega hotels, have the time to really take care of you. Their complimentary towncar is a great service, the garden is lovely and there's a computer in the lobby where you can print boarding passes. Overall a lovely place.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Nice looking hotel. Excellent location in walking distance to many bars, restaurants, and the metro. They will give you a free car ride within 2 miles (the Bethesda area primarily). Friendly staff. It's an older hotel but it was remodeled not long ago. It has an elegant feel to it. Parking is $14 extra per day.

Make sure to check their website for any special discount rates:

bethesdacourtwashdc.com

Room Tip: Beautiful courtyard on the north side of the hotel, and you can request a stay on that side of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The major comment I have is that this was just an adequate hotel with high costs. It is close to NIH, clean and quiet. However, you cannot adequately control the heat & the breakfast was in a former closet where there was never enough room. I hope to never have to stay there again. It was not bad; it just wanted good enough for $200 per night. I stayed in better hotels at a third of the cost.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I stayed here for 5 days in October over the Columbus Day weekend. Since I was driving to the area, I was concerned that I would have difficulties finding it off the beltway. My fears wre unfounded. The BCH was very easy to find off the 270 Beltway and centrally located in Bethesda. Bethesda MD is a short 15-20 minute ride on the Red Line to the middle of Washington DC (to the Metro Station, a 10 minute walk to the White House) and a much better and cheaper alternative to staying inside DC itself. The hotel is a short walk to the Bethesda Metro Station and also very close by to restaraunts & shops in the area. The people who run the hotel and work there were very pleasant & polite who work hard to ensure their customers are comfortable. My room was near the parking lot and I had no issues at all with noise from there or the street. The $14/day parking fee there is pretty reasonable compared to other places who charge $20 and up. Since I live close enough to the DC area, I drive there rather than fly and would personally prefer to pay this fee and not have to drive everywhere (and pay MORE parking fees) while leaving the car in their parking lot while I take the Metro everywhere.

This was my first trip to DC and this hotel exceeded my expectations in all aspects. From now on, when I come to DC I will only stay at the Bethesda Court Hotel and recommend others to stay here when they too come to DC.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

The pros: We chose this hotel because it was affordable (compared to the hotels in DC), and it was conveniently located near the Metro line. We purchased a day pass for the Metro and were able to easily vist all the DC sites. The room was clean and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was standard.
The cons: Our room faced the parking lot. It was pretty noisy far into the late hours of the night. The coffee maker in our room didn't work, but was replaced upon request. We didn't have a microwave in our room and had to walk quite a distance to use the one located next to the ice dispenser. Also, there was a $14 a day charge to park our car in the hotel parking lot. This charge seemed to be standard among hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bethesda Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Court Hotel

Address: 7740 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814 (Formerly Golden Tulip Bethesda Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bethesda
#3 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bethesda Court Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bethesda Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Bethesda
Bethesda Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.