We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bethesda Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bethesda Court Hotel to your Saves list
Bethesda Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7740 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814 (Formerly Golden Tulip Bethesda Court Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Special
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bethesda
Pueblo, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

My husband had a conference to attend, so the kids and I tagged along. We have three kids, ages 16, 14, and 10. We acquired a room with two queens and a roll away. We took the Metro, which is a block and a half from the hotel.

The room was a spacious enough, that even after we had the roll away opened, we still had room to walk in the room. It was a pretty normal sized room. We have traveled a lot and a Hilton or Marriott wouldn't have offered a larger room. I made sure to tip the housekeeper each day and she did a great job cleaning the room; although, she would unplug our laptops each day even though they were turned off. That was a bit odd. The bed was too soft for me, but that may be what others really like. The bathroom was fine. Bathtub/shower combo was the same size as the ones I have home...standard size. Our room had a mini-fridge. We had cable and no problems with any channels and rented a couple of movies during the week.

The front desk staff were terrific. Curtis and Brandon would talked to my kids, one in particular, when they would go down in the evening. They offered us free bottled water and chocolates on a daily basis. The water was great after a long day walking in D.C. Paula, who worked mornings, was great too.

The breakfast was actually pretty good, but I'm a fan of protein and they only had boiled eggs to meet that want. The boiled eggs weren't as attractive on day five as they were
on day one and two. They had cereals, oatmeal packets, grit packets, bagel (white and whole wheat), muffins, pastries, apples, yogurt, milk, coffee and tea, too. My kids were satisfied with it, which is the big deal. The breakfast room is small. One day we ate in the breakfast room, another day in the lobby, and another day in the beautiful court yard. If the weather is nice, that is the best place by far, of course.

Yes, the elevator was slightly slow, but the stairs to the second floor was short. So, if I was in a hurry, I just took the stairs, but most of the time, I just took the elevator.

Area restaurants we ate at were Tastees, a diner. Kids loved it and I was done after the third visit. Good food, but get's old. Rock Bottom...good food. Mia's Pizza...Wood fired pizza...EXCELLENT...I recommend the meatball pizza! Chicken on the Run...not bad. Georgetown Cupcake...it's cupcakes, of course it's good! BD's Mongolian Grill...HOLY COW it's GOOD, but expensive. Check them out online before going to see their pricing. Five Guys...always excellent! If you decide to eat at "The Original Pancake House," one plate of pancakes can feed two people. It really and truly can. Look for the "Eat Here" Guide to help with restaurants in the area.

Tips for getting around if it's your first time to the area. When in Bethesday, they have a Trolley (which is more like a people mover) that is free called the Bethesday Circulator. The "Eat Here" Guide has more information. If you are there for a week and plan to take the Metro a lot, get a weekly unlimited pass. It will save you money. If you want to go up in the Washington Monument, book online. The Kennedy Center has free shuttle service back and forth from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. Don't buy stuff from the street vendors as they are three times the cost of the stores in downtown D.C.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    90
    30
    14
    11
See reviews for
56
54
30
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

The hotel is very well located and clean. It has numerous flaws that give me no reason to stay there again. The elevators are very old, small and slow. The lighting in the room is terrible. The nice looking flat screen TV has terrible reception and the 2nd night of our 2 night stay we could not get CBS or NBC. The second night the parking lot was full and the front desk was very kind to recommend that we park on the street or find a parking garage. The shower is literally 3 ft by 3 ft and no tub. No reason to stay at this hotel with the other choices nearby.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Bethesda Court is a well kept, very conveniently located hotel. It is 1 ½ blocks from the Bethesda Metro station then just about 20 minutes to the Mall. We stayed there for a long weekend family getaway. A great value considering the “close in” hotels cost 2-3 times as much.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Bethesda Court based on TripAdvisor reviews. Since we like well run motels, the reviews that emphasized this did not put us off. However, we were extremely surprised by the small size of the room. Think Manhattan, not Bethesda. The space is very tight, and since we stayed a few nights, there was barely enough storage. There is an extremely cramped space for hanging up times, with no room for suitcases. While the Bethesda Court is cheaper than some of the other area hotels, this is because it offers less, not because it is a bargain. We ended up going out for breakfast as the breakfast room was cramped and unpleasant and our room too small to eat in. We had reserved a "luxury" room, but saw no evidence of that. That said, if the Bethesda Court is significantly cheaper than other hotels when you go, it is clean, the bed comfortable, and the parking is easy to negotiate -- a plus in this area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fishkill, ny
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

My sisters and I stayed there recently for a weekend. We were in town to watch the Rangers play the Caps at the Verizon Center. The hotel staff was pleasant and we were greeted with chocolates and bottles of water. Our room was clean, well-equipped with fridge, coffee maker, and flat screen tv. The beds were very comfortable and the hotel was quiet. We all slept well. The red line of the Metro subway was a block and a half away and we were 20 minutes to the arena and downtown area. Breakfast included cereals, juices, fruits, hard-boiled eggs, bagels, pastries, muffins, coffee, etc....The front desk staff were quick to answer questions about how to get to our destination. We ordered pizza and Chinese food to be delivered to the room.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonthill
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Even people in Bethesda are caught by surprise at the ambience of this boutique hotel, with it's amazing staff. Echoing all that is good with a European hotel, Bethesda Court is a winner. Small, comfortable and enticing, it is surround by restaurants, stores and is a hop skip and a jump from the Metro. From Joyce, Paula and Brandon on the front desk to those housekeepers who make the air and the building sparkle, there is little wrong.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

We discovered Bethesda Court via a friend's recommendation. Among other things, it was reasonably priced (in a metro area not famous for that!) and had easy access via the Metro to downtown D.C.

We were greeted warmly at the front desk like old friends (had never been there before), and that never changed during the five days we stayed there.

This comparatively small hotel is steeped in customer service. Uniformly pleasant and helpful staff were pro-active in helping us have a great stay with them and in DC.

It's a cozy, clean, charming place to stay. Our room overlooked the courtyard, which is a little gem within a little gem. We were close to multiple restaurants. And staff even helped us choose the best pizza delivery restaurant. (They were right!)

It was an altogether pleasant stay at Bethesda Court and we would stay there again in a heartbeat.

I do not know staff who work there. I was not paid to write this glowing review. :) I will usually gritch if I'm not happy. Therefore, it seems only fair to praise when I am. And there you have it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bethesda Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethesda Court Hotel

Address: 7740 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814 (Formerly Golden Tulip Bethesda Court Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bethesda
#3 Business Hotel in Bethesda
#4 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bethesda Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bethesda Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Bethesda
Bethesda Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethesda Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.