We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic, like my mother's cooking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pines of Rome

Pines of Rome
4709 Hampden Ln, Bethesda, MD 20814-2909
301-657-8775
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 288 Restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
480 reviews
342 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Authentic, like my mother's cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

A business collegue has an office near by and he took me here for my birthday. He raved about the white pizza because he knows how much I love pizza. It was excellent. The small was perfect for the 2 of us. It has a nice flavor of cheese and garlic. We also split the spaghetti dish made without a heavy cream sauce. That was also very good. I was also p,eased by the prices. Not the typical over the top bill in DC. Total bill for 2 with tip was $25.10. This is not a gourmet restaurant and it does not pretend to be one, but I can see why it has been a fixture in Bethesda for over 35 years! The servers are professional, polite, and attentive when necessary. I will certainly return...and order the white pizza again. I measure Italian food by what my mother made for me. The Pines of Rome passed the "Mamma" test easily.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    23
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yogaville
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We went to Pines of Rome with high hopes buoyed by a connection to the late great AV's, our all-time favorite ristorante via a former AV chef we'd read about. Sadly, though several menu items were similar this only served to highten the mediocre quality of everything we tried -- eggplant parm, fried zucchini, pizza, even the table bread. None of it bad, but none of it exceptional at all. We're not fussy about ambience or presentation, but the taste itself was only fair.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Been Here A Long Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a classic Italian Restaurant. The pastas and other menu items are the genuine article. This restaurant has been here in Bethesda forever. I have seen famous people eating here too so it must be known around DC too. I know it has other locations under slightly different names, but this is my favorite.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The restaurant is just a short walk from The Residence Inn where I stayed. The atmosphere was casual and the prices reasonable. I ordered the fettuccine Alfredo for my meal. When it arrived at my table it looked like it had been sitting under a warmer for a while (probably while waiting for my brother's lasagna to cook!). Despite its appearance, it tasted good. My brother's lasagna was very hot and tasty. The wine was served "home-style" in a water glass and was plentiful.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Old fashioned neighborhood Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Has been a fixture for over 30 years. Some of the waiters are the originals. Don't expect gourmet but do expect good food and greAt value. Be sure to order the white pizza and red peppers. Kid friendly

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pines of Rome also viewed

 

Been to Pines of Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pines of Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.