We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned neighborhood Italian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pines of Rome

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pines of Rome
4709 Hampden Ln, Bethesda, MD 20814-2909
301-657-8775
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 296 restaurants in Bethesda
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Old fashioned neighborhood Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Has been a fixture for over 30 years. Some of the waiters are the originals. Don't expect gourmet but do expect good food and greAt value. Be sure to order the white pizza and red peppers. Kid friendly

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    23
    15
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great, reasonable Italian food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Open late and wonderful, casual atmosphere with great prices and homemade Italian food. Service is fast. Carafes of wine too!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not sure what the hype is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I can't say it was a horrible meal, but it was truly average. We ordered the white pizza based on the reviews and it was fine, but again, nothing amazing. The place is kind of old and run down, with pretty nasty bathrooms. I don't want them to lose business but I really don't see what the excitement is. They did give us a pitcher of water right when we go there, which was great because we were all really thirsty and they replaced it again as soon as we finished it, so that was a plus. The red sauce was definitely homemade and had big chunks of fresh tomato in it, so that was good. The eggplant parmesean was pretty bad - too thickly sliced and extremely bland. Sorry! I hate giving bad reviews, but this was honest.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Authentic Ristorante”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have eaten here numerous times and ith gives us a bit of a feeling as though we were back in Naples or rome at a little out of the way place. The basic entrees and Pizza age good and it is great for families of all sizes and ages. We also enjoy their takeout Pizza.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best WHITE PIZZA EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Everything I have had there is terrific but the white pizza makes me go back several times a month.....awesome!! We have neighborhood ladies dinners there for 30 + and they all ask for white pizza.
Great food, very casual, nothing fancy but excellent food

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pines of Rome also viewed

 

Been to Pines of Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pines of Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.