We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but Pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newton's Table

Newton's Table
4917 Elm Street, Bethesda, MD 20814
(301) 718-0550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Newton's Table is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 275 Restaurants in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Woodmont and Arlington
Transit: We are two blocks from the Bethesda Metro Station, on the Red Line.
Description: Newton's Table, a new restaurant by Chef Dennis Friedman, is the latest addition to downtown Bethesda featuring contemporary American cuisine. Renovations are almost finished and opening is slated for early April.
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Decent but Pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I enjoyed my dinner but, my two guests were not quite as pleased. They felt their food was just mediocre and the steak special my friend ordered was $44. And, if you’re a bread lover, forget it. It’s not served here.

My meal, the Coco-Surry Fuzu was excellent and only $27, one of the least expensive dinners on the menu. If you plan on an appetizer, ask if they have calamari (it’s not always on the menu). It is outstanding – the best I have ever had! Finally, the dessert – you are paying for the presentation, not the taste. They are ok, but not worth the high price. Overall, a decent meal, but for the price, there are better options in Bethesda.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    23
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great Food In a Mellow Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The restaurant serves great and varies food with gracious but unpretentious service. Unlike many places, not designed to feed egos but to feed appetite for good and creative food,

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Intimate Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Dinner on a Tuesday night. Quiet atmosphere, excellent food, generous food portions. I had the salmon and my co-workers had the mushroom ravioli. We all thoroughly enjoyed our food and the quiet atmosphere that allowed us to chat without talking loudly and listen without straining.
Our server was attentive and very professional. I would love to have the opportunity to eat here again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Such a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

WONDERFUL menu. The bison and the mushroom ravioli are among the best I've ever had. FANTASTIC cocktails, unusual wine menu and lovely staff. I had the ice cream and sorbet assortment - something I usually wouldn't select - and the blackberry mint ice cream is among the best homemade flavors I've ever had.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Great lamb! Good staff! Great impression for a date night or any night for that matter :) I will go back :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newton's Table also viewed

 

Been to Newton's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newton's Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.