We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch in a charming and quiet place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newton's Table

Newton's Table
4917 Elm Street, Bethesda, MD 20814
(301) 718-0550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Newton's Table is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 296 restaurants in Bethesda
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Woodmont and Arlington
Transit: We are two blocks from the Bethesda Metro Station, on the Red Line.
Description: Newton's Table, a new restaurant by Chef Dennis Friedman, is the latest addition to downtown Bethesda featuring contemporary American cuisine. Renovations are almost finished and opening is slated for early April.
Reston
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch in a charming and quiet place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

A friend who lives in Bethesda said this was her favorite place and that was where she wanted to go for her Birthday lunch. All 3 of us had the special, a lovely house salad and Char over a wonderful couscous. The service was immaculate. Just the right touch, a quick scooping away of my opened sugar packages but not wanting to take away the dishes too soon. Just right. Food was outstanding. Only disappointment was the Pig Brittle for dessert. On the menu a mention that it was rated an outstanding ice cream by others. While good, the brittle was excellent but served on the side and the ice cream was vanilla. So not sure what the excitement was about. I was expecting a blended ice cream. However that did not overcome what was a just delightful experience. I would definitely go back again and I loved that you could hear. Great food, outstanding service and decent prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    35
    22
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Extremely good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We four shared the Kobe Wontons, Mushroom Ravioli, Fuzu and Arctic Char. We were surprised at how good everything was: Texture, flavor and presentation. And we could tell the waiter was from Europe as he gave perfect service---informative but not intrusive. We hardly noticed when he removed various pieces of tableware.

And unlike so many other restaurants, this place is not noisy. You can actually hear your dining partners talk.

A great experience.

The next day I went to a restaurant that serves breakfast at any time. So I ordered French Toast during the Renaissance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Quiet, elegant place with fine food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Four of us enjoyed the ambience and fine service at this lovely Bethesda restaurant. Our starters were terrific: 2 different delicious salads, sweet potato gnocchi, and cold soba noodles with ceviche-style chunks of shrimp and scallops (least tasty of all the appetizers). Main courses were perfectly sized and perfectly cooked: wonderful poached halibut, grilled rockfish, tasty veal tenderloin (3 thick slices) crusted with macadamian nut chutney and presented with purple Okinawa sweet potato puree. We shared an order of their wonderful, signature dessert of "pig brittle" with pecans and proscuitto and an item new to the menu, apricot crumble (tasty but smallish). Coffee/cappucino was particularly flavorful, we thought.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is my wife and I's favorite local restaurant. Every dish we have ordered is amazing with the exception of the Ahi Tuna we ordered this last time (they cook it too much despite requesting rare). But that doesn't discourage me from giving it rave reviews. Love it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our favorite place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We live here, and we're here all the time. Fine dining doesn't really have much of a foothold in Bethesda (really, now, it just doesn't) but Newton's Table is holding up the tent pole.

Chef Friedman is hugely creative - appetizers to try are the nori tuna, seared squares of ahi surrounded with a miso ginger demiglace; the short rib, seasoned with 12 spices and espresso; and any soup special he has. Big winners for the mains include the bison ribeye and the "fuzu" noodles, the latter of which is a platform for a fast-casual restaurant downtown.

Can't miss the chocolate crunch dessert. It's what happens when Kit-Kat's father makes him get cleaned up and put on a tuxedo.

Very few places get perfect ratings (I am picky.) Do they make mistakes? What do you think?

Do I love it? Unquestionably.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newton's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newton's Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.